Why does my Safari (6.0.2) keep crashing?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Ben Kei, Dec 9, 2012.

  1. Ben Kei macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Location:
    London UK
    #1
    Ever since Safari 6 came out, it's gone from being incredibly stable to crashing a few times a day.

    It just closes and brings up a crash report window.
    I'm sending 4 or 5 error reports every day! I don't think I had that many crashes in a year previously.

    I can't work out what's causing the crashes, as in if there is a trigger for them. Sometimes it's as soon as I click on a new link, other times it's when scrolling down a page.. there's no definite trigger.

    The error report points to java causing the crashed but I don't know how to read them really.

    Everything is as up to date as it can be, disk utility run, old preferences/cache files etc.. trashed. I don;'t know what else to try?

    Any help would be appreciated.

    I'd post up the error report but it's too many characters.
     
  2. nofunsir macrumors member

    nofunsir

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    Reno
    #2
    Same here.

    Do you happen to use use the extensions AdBlock 2.5.49 or Ghostery 1.4.1?
     
  3. MacShopper macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Location:
    Eugene, Oregon
    #3
    I've been having the same trouble with 6.0.2, Safari crashes several times a day now.

    I have AdBlock and Ghostery installed. I installed Ghostery 17 days ago and it's been working fine till two days ago.

    I started using a new website a couple days ago, and most of the crashes have occurred when I clicked various links there, but have also occurred at least a few times on other sites.

    In most of the crash logs there are 511 entries of this line:
    511 com.apple.JavaScriptCore 0x000000010b3f1372 JSC::JSCell::getOwnPropertySlotByIndex(JSC::JSCell*, JSC::ExecState*, unsigned int, JSC::propertySlot&) + 98
     
  4. Ben Kei thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Location:
    London UK
    #4
    I think I do have Adblock installed actually.

    I'm at work now so can't check but for some reason, I didn't even think about whether that could be the issue.

    Thanks, I'll give it a play tonight and see if it's the problem.
     
  5. javapop macrumors newbie

    javapop

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #5
    same issue.... using adblock

    I have adblock 2.4.28 installed. I don't have Ghostery installed. I'll try un-enabling adblock and see if that helps.
     

Share This Page