Why does Safari sometimes reset and delete open tabs?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by felixen, Aug 1, 2012.

  1. felixen, Aug 1, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2012

    felixen macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    #1
    I have noticed that every once in a while Safari on both my Mac Mini as well as my new Macbook Air will start without having remembered any of my open tabs (tabs that were open last time I used the computer).

    It only happens sometimes, but I haven't noticed any pattern yet.. Maybe it's after reboots of the computer, I dunno.. But it is annoying though, as I often keep important tabs open and then Safari just closes them.

    Any suggestions to this issue?
     
  2. felixen thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
  3. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #3
    The only time I've ever seen Safari open without loading saved tabs is when I manually close all of my tabs before I quit Safari.
     
  4. felixen thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    #4
    My Air just did it again. Had a few important tabs open. It really sucks! My Mini does it too sometimes, but not that often. Can it be something in the settings I am missing?

    I didn't reboot now and didn't shut down Safari either, so I really don't know what's happening
     
  5. squaremon macrumors regular

    squaremon

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #5
    are you using safari 6.0? I experienced this a few times:(
     
  6. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #6
    Safari has been crashing for me since I bought my first mac 4 years ago. I really hoped that they would resolve this problem with 6.0 But it still very unstable, in addition, it consumes extreme amounts of RAM. It a shame actually, because its a very nice looking browser. I guess I will be going back to Chrome :(
     
  7. stevelam macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    #7
    You realize chrome is the most ram hungry browser out there right?
     
  8. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #8
    That doesnt seem to be that much of an issue now, most computers have 4+ GB of RAM.
     
  9. felixen thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    #9
    Yup, I am. When did they release this version? I'm curious as to when an update might come out so this will luckily be fixed.

    Also, did you notice any patterns on your end when this bug happened? If I can do some things to avoid initiating the bug, then I definitely will
     

Share This Page