Why does Safari suck and why hasent Apple fixed it?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by PowerFullMac, Dec 13, 2008.

  1. PowerFullMac macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #1
    Yes, I said it, Safari sucks. it hogs your memory and it's unsecure.

    Why havent Apple fixed it? Same reason they havent put MMS on the iPhone; they dont care about their customers.

    They advertise a secure OS and it is but why then put such a horrible browser on it? If I had 1p for every pop-up that got past the Safari pop-up blocker I would have enough money to fix the financial crisis!!! :eek:

    If you are using Safari now with out a third party pop-up blocker, people, go to www.allsp.com and click at least one link (Season 12, for example) or in fact, just leave it, and tell me how many pop-ups you get.

    I find it amazing that Apple has such spent such a long time building OS X to be so secure and advanced but yet put such a crappy unsecure browser that ends up using all your RAM.
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Safari works perfectly fine for me, and I'm using on average around 16 hours a day, every day. I've rarely had a pop-up, using Safari's standard blocker. It doesn't hog resources.... it's "snappy!" Thanks for the example site. I went there and clicked "Season Twelve". Zero pop-ups.
     
  3. grooveattack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
  4. PowerFullMac thread starter macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #4
    Well that's odd, I get pop-ups in Safari whenever I use that site and as for it being snappy I did a bit of research and I found that the whole "Safari eats your system" thing is a known problem, there is a thread about it here.

    EDIT: If you think you didnt get a pop-up, check Expose.
     
  5. yoyo5280 macrumors 68000

    yoyo5280

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia & Bay Area
    #5
    safari is snappier than browsers that advertise themselfs as 'light' browsers with no features just speed.

    whats probably giving you all those popups is adware.
    download macscan and get rid of it all!
     
  6. PowerFullMac thread starter macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #6
    Adware on a Mac? Pah!

    The pop-ups are only on certain sites so its nothing on my Mac.

    Try going to www.allsp.com, click Season 12 or any other season really then check Expose (F3 by default), there will be another window with advertising in it!
     
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    Checking with Expose is a no-brainer. No pop-ups or pop-unders... nada. And Safari doesn't use NEARLY as much resources as iTunes, for example. I haven't had a problem with Safari slowing down or eating up resources or RAM.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. yoyo5280 macrumors 68000

    yoyo5280

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia & Bay Area
    #8
    nothing.

    really it happened to my moms macbook. there are certain websites (yea...my moms...kinda freaky :eek:)
     
  9. PowerFullMac thread starter macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #9
    Some dodgy site redirected me to a shock site before so maybe... But still I dont think so, with a bit of Googeling I found a article about a exploit which a adware concept program used and it was from 2006, so I guess it would have been fixed by now.

    And if some dodgy program got onto my Mac, it would have gone through Safari.

    I highly doubt I have adware, still, because the pop-ups only come up on certain sites and only in Safari, nothing in Firefox yet.
     
  10. yoyo5280 macrumors 68000

    yoyo5280

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia & Bay Area
    #10
    okay, you may be right

    but if your not

    i told you so
     
  11. PowerFullMac thread starter macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #11
    Just to be on the safe side, these are screenshots from my Activity Monitor, does any of it look dodgy?

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  12. yoyo5280 macrumors 68000

    yoyo5280

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia & Bay Area
    #12
    seriously man just google macscan download the demo, run a scan and youll be set for aaaages.

    and if nothing comes up

    sorry.:eek:
     
  13. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #13
  14. PowerFullMac thread starter macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #14
    I don't wanna install weird virus scan things on here, though.

    I noticed "aped" is running but yet I dont have Application Enhancer installed :confused:

    EDIT: thanks, I'm looking at that now, ggjstudios
     
  15. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #15
    1) Safari doesn't suck.

    2) If you don't like it, use another browser.

    3) I tried that link with Safari and got a pop-up. I tried it with Firefox, and got 2 popups. (Yes, both had "block pop-ups" on.) Make of that what you will.

    --Eric
     
  16. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #16
    I tried your link with Safari and got a Vodafone advertisement open up on a new page.

    I then tried the same link with Firefox and surprise, surprise, I also got a Vodafone advertisement open up on a new page.

    May I suggest that it isn't your browser that is the problem but the web sites you are visiting. :p
     
  17. PowerFullMac thread starter macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #17
    I get no pop-ups coz I have a extension which only lets scripts I want run and no scripts = no pop-ups or adverts :D
     
  18. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #18
    Yes but you were explicitly criticising Safari about the pop-up but other browsers behave in exactly the same way.

    Like I said above, it is the web page that is dodgy. If Safari was the only browser affected I could understand you slagging it off but obviously other browsers have their pop-up filter bypassed by this web page.
     
  19. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #19
    Stop talking sense!
    You should know it makes no difference!
     
  20. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #20
    Sorry, I should know better. :eek:
     
  21. PowerFullMac thread starter macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #21
    True, but there is other things, too.

    A website was able to run applications on my Mac... Yes, without asking my permission or anything it just opened a few applications then replicated Safari windows along with windows of all the apps it started... Very secure :rolleyes:
     
  22. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #22
    Which web site?
     
  23. PowerFullMac thread starter macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #23
    T'was a shock site I got redirected to.
     
  24. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #24
    I have pop-up blocking turned off and i didnt even get any....
     
  25. wheelhot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #25
    Its amazing after a few posts, most people fail to mention that this could be another version of pop up ads. Its called pop under ads and its meant to work in such a way that pop up blocker wont be able to block it.

    P.S: Oddly enough, I dont get any pop up ads visiting that website. Only ads within the site.
     

Share This Page