why does the 1P logo disappear from the overhead menu?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by blackxacto, Jun 4, 2017.

  1. blackxacto macrumors 6502

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #1
    17,1 iMac, macOS 10.12.5, 1P 6.7.1

    Does anyone else's 1Password logo disappear from the overhead menu?
    I have reinstalled 1Password, reinstalled macOS, LittleSnitch allows all communication of 1P.
     
  2. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #2
    I have not had the icon disappear.

    Do you have the 1Password Preference>General>1Password mini checked for "Always keep 1Password mini running" & "Show mini app icon in the menu bar"?
     
  3. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #3
    How many icons have you enabled? There is no guarantee that all icons are shown all the time.
     
  4. blackxacto thread starter macrumors 6502

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #4
    Yes, checked to always appear in menu bar.

    Once I call up 1P, the logo appears in menu bar.
    Then disappears several days later.
     
  5. kiwipeso1 Suspended

    kiwipeso1

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #5
    This depends on whether you have it set to start at login, and how many things are in your menubar.
    It can also be affected by the program running if it has too many menus.
     
  6. blackxacto thread starter macrumors 6502

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #6
    If so, then why is it the only logo to disappear, after subtracting logos?
    Where do you read there is a space maximum, or are you just guessing?
     
  7. kiwipeso1 Suspended

    kiwipeso1

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #7
    It's been part of the mac system since 1984, and I have seen how it works in the developer documentation.
     
  8. blackxacto thread starter macrumors 6502

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #8
    Why are you keeping this max a secret? Share the specific documentation.
     
  9. kiwipeso1 Suspended

    kiwipeso1

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #9
    1. It's under NDA. 2. It's obvious if you pay attention when you use the system. 3. I'm not interested in searching paperwork from over 20 years ago just to state precisely what technical details are obvious enough that most users notice it in their first day on mac.
     
  10. blackxacto thread starter macrumors 6502

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
  11. kiwipeso1 Suspended

    kiwipeso1

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #11
    1. It's under NDA. 2. It's obvious if you pay attention when you use the system. 3. I'm not interested in searching paperwork from over 20 years ago just to state precisely what technical details are obvious enough that most users notice it in their first day on mac.
     
  12. blackxacto thread starter macrumors 6502

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #12
    Obviously, again, thanks for nothing.
     
  13. kiwipeso1 Suspended

    kiwipeso1

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #13
    Sure, always glad to help a pointless question
    In what reality do you think I should apologise for other companies not making perfect code according to someone who never contributed to the specification of how it should work ?
    Your arrogance is astounding for someone who lacks awareness of how things work.
     
  14. blackxacto thread starter macrumors 6502

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #14
    Again, like I said, thanks for nothing
     
  15. AGKyle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    #15
    A couple of things.

    1. Make sure you have the option to keep 1Password mini running, seems you already have that enabled
    2. If you have too many apps running in the menu bar, you will have many apps fighting for space. Notably you'll see this happen because the menu bar is "split" between the menu items for the app (File, Edit, View, Window, Help, and any other specific to the app) and the menu bar icons on the right. The menus will have priority so that they are displayed, this means if you have an app with a lot of menus it will push other icons (from the right) off the screen and they will appear to be invisible. Your best bet is to simply make sure you aren't running so many menu items on the right. Disable those that you do not use frequently. Many people used to use an app called Bartender for this but it now requires disabling System Integrity Protection so I know people are more hesitant to use it. But it is an option if you want to disable that security feature.

    I suspect you're encountering #2 there. This can be compounded by low screen resolution, so on older computers with lower resolutions, or with newer devices that have retina displays when the scale factor is cranked up too high it can reduce the amount of space menu bar items and menus have available to them.

    We don't have any control over this either.

    A third possibility is that the mini is crashing, you'd usually see this as the mini appearing, then disappearing, then reappearing again (as it relaunches automatically). It's position in the menu bar may change as well if other apps have been launched since it was originally launched. Something to look for at least. If you can trigger this reliably, you can test for the crash situation really easily by simply opening 1Password, unlocking it, then triggering the issue. If you then click 1Password again and it's locked, this indicates that the mini crashed. It holds the unlock/lock state and when it crashes it will lose the memory where the decryption keys are stored and then when relaunched require re-entry of the Master Password.

    Hope that helps, but if you want support with 1Password this is a 3rd party support forum, you may be better served by asking in our own support forums where we have support personnel answering user questions. I read these forums and try to respond but it can often get lost in the clutter, I just happened to stumble on your question today.
     
  16. glenthompson macrumors 68000

    glenthompson

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
  17. AGKyle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    #17
    Does it? That's news to me, last I had heard it had to be disabled. Thanks for the correction!
     
  18. techwarrior macrumors 6502

    techwarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #18
    Here is an idea, provided you can't find a conventional way to resolve this. What this solution will do is kill the mini application, which forces it to restart automatically. By doing this, the process will get a fresh start daily, without having to reboot or manually restart the application.

    in Terminal, run the command ps -ef | grep pass and you will see something like:

    501 703 1 0 25May17 ?? 5:40.89 2BUA8C4S2C.com.agilebits.onepassword-osx-helper

    Next, use the command crontab -e to create a scheduled job to kill the process daily. Your entry should be:

    01 01 * * * /usr/bin/killall 2BUA8C4S2C.com.agilebits.onepassword-osx-helper

    (change this last part if the process name is different, using the results from the ps -ef command above).

    What this will do is kill the 1Password Mini application, it will auto-restart within a second or two.

    The 01 01 * * * part is interpreted as at 01:01 am daily, execute the command. Because crontab runs as root without shell context, the path (/usr/bin) must be specified as killall is in this directory and will fail unless the full path is specified.

    When using crontab -e, the default editor (vi) will be used to edit the crontab file. If you are not familiar with vi, add the line using the key 'i' to insert text on a new line, or 'R' to replace a line, enter (or copy\paste) your text, then ESC : wq! keys. ESC escapes the edit mode, : takes you to a command line, and wq! performs write, quit, forcefully.

    After the entry is saved, run crontab -l to confirm the entry (that is lower case L).

    Once a day the OS will forcefully reset the mini app so it remains fresh. Given your statement that it disappears after a couple of days, this should be sufficient. If it still disappears, you might add a second line to crontab such as:

    01 11 * * * /usr/bin/killall 2BUA8C4S2C.com.agilebits.onepassword-osx-helper

    This second line would restart the mini process at 11:01AM daily. The first 5 fields of crontab are min, hour, day (1-31), month (1-12) and day of week (0-6). The * means all, so change accordingly if you want this to run at different times of the day.

    You can add as many lines as you want like this until you find it remains stable. But, note that the first time you access the 1P Mini from the menu following these restarts, you will be prompted for your vault password, even if you provided it seconds before the restart.

    That said, you might first try 1Password forums to see if there is another solution. I have never had issues with this in the 3-4 years I have used the 1Password application.
     
  19. AGKyle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    #19
    I would NOT recommend killing the mini like this. Allowing it to be properly shut down is a much much better solution. The mini is the brains behind the entire operation. It contains your data, it controls syncing, it controls the browser extension, it even provides data to the main application. Killing the process is like bringing a sledge hammer over to pound a couple of nails on the wall for hanging pictures.

    This would be a far better suggestion though :) If the advice in my previous post does not help please get in touch via our forums.
     
  20. techwarrior macrumors 6502

    techwarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #20
    Agreed in general practice, but how is killing the process really all that different than what happens when the Mac loses power? The mini should not be doing anything at 1AM while the user is sleeping, it is not processing changes, retrieving data, or syncing with the cloud if the computer is not currently being used. All of those tasks should have been taken care of well before the user fell asleep!

    And, don't developers consider the abrupt, unexpected termination of their applications when they design them? If not, then they risk corruption as these are "expected" albeit rare user scenarios.

    But, what it will do is ensure it is ready for use when needed if there is something causing the mini to crash and not recover over time (assuming that is why it doesn't appear in the menu bar).

    Clearly, force quitting, or using the kill\killall commands are the least desirable methods, but they are also necessary at times. If there is no other way to resolve this, it saves the effort of launching the full app in order to spawn the mini to launch. I have used this method for years with a couple of apps that become unresponsive over time.
     
  21. AGKyle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    #21
    We do handle these in code, but it's best not to risk causing yourself trouble, and your advice is ... questionable... the better solution is for the user to get in touch with us so we can determine more about what is actually going wrong, not telling him to resort to killing the app with a cronjob and assuming it's a good idea.

    This isn't our support forum, which is why i suggested that the poster contact us if my advice didn't work. I'd just ask you to be mindful of offering this type of advice when extremely sensitive data is involved. If this was a Twitter app or something, sure, kill it all you want, you're not putting yourself in a possible situation where data is lost. But this is a password manager, with sensitive data in it. I'd hate to have people provide suggestions that end up causing data loss, it's for the user's own protection. I've had to tell my fair share of people their data is unrecoverable (mostly due to forgetting their Master Password), it isn't fun. The last thing I want to see is advice that could potentially cause us to have to tell another user their data is toast due to advice they followed from a random person that isn't us.
     
  22. MacGizmo macrumors 6502a

    MacGizmo

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Location:
    Arizona
    #22
    There's something janky going on with 1Password under recent versions of Sierra.

    I don't have a problem with the mini app disappearing from the menubar, but typing 1Password into Spotlight no longer lists the actual 1Password app that's installed on my Mac. I get web URLs, text files that contain references to the app, links to wikipedia and other sites that mention it, even the backup ZIP file and iOS data file... but not the app itself.
     
  23. AGKyle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    #23
    You mean in Spotlight itself you're not seeing 1Password listed?

    Make sure it's in your Applications folder. If it is there, it sounds like maybe Spotlight is indexing things incorrectly or it's index is messed up in some way. I'm afraid we have no control over what Spotlight does. The way it works is that it scans your drive for files and indexes the content. 3rd party apps can add their content to Spotlight (we don't do this on Mac, but do on iOS) and when it encounters one of those file types it runs the apps Spotlight plugin on that data to generate the index. That's about the extent of our ability to interact with Spotlight, so anything wonky in Spotlight is outside of our control.
     
  24. blackxacto thread starter macrumors 6502

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #24
    At AgileBits recommendation, I deleted all files for XMenu App, then rebooted.
    After several days without XMenu, the 1P logo remains in the MenuBar.

    I have since discovered that:
    1. Clicking the Finder (using ColumnView)
    2. Apple+Shift+A, does the same thing as how I used XMenu, so I won’t be going back to XMenu.

    I think it has solved the issue of the disappearing 1P logo in MenuBar. I’ll continue to watch for the 1P disappearance, but for now, seems fine.
     
  25. MacGizmo macrumors 6502a

    MacGizmo

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Location:
    Arizona
    #25
    Yeah, it's most likely something with the Sierra beta OS versions I'm running. 1P is installed in the Applications folder, and has worked flawlessly for years... up until a few beta versions ago, when it simply stopped showing up in Spotlight. It still functions perfectly fine, but in order for me to launch the app, I actually have to put it in the Dock, or go up under the menubar icon as opposed to just tapping Command+Space and typing 1p as I previously did.

    I have the same issue on both MBP and iMac (both running the same versions of 1P and macOS Sierra betas.
     

Share This Page