Why doesn't sell MP's without RAM?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by sparkie7, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. sparkie7 macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #1
    Well, at least as a BTO MP with 0 RAM pre-configured, as anyone with any sense will pull the 1GB/2GB sticks out and put 2GB/4GB/8GB in.

    It just seems like an awful waste for all those redundant 1GB & 2GB sticks

    Who wants them?, you can sell on ebay but its not worth the effort

    It just seems like there should be an option to buy a MP with zero RAM and even no HD's. Customer's save some $$ and there is no wastage
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Sadly, because Apple is a business and wants our money. At the end of everything (regardless of what Jobs says) they just want our money.
     
  3. dallas112678 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #3
    Oh god, could you imagine all the PC fanboys screaming "$2300 and NOoO RaAaM LoLz"
     
  4. highdefw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    #4
    I buy them...Does seem pointless to offer so little when asking for $3000+ on a high end workstation...
     
  5. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #5
    what do you do with them?
     
  6. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #6
    Shipping any computer in a non-functioning state would be business suicide.

    Not everyone upgrades their RAM immediately.
     
  7. highdefw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    #7
    Build Mac Pros out of sourced parts and resell them as refurbished...Neat way to make a little extra cash. ;)
     
  8. Davy.Shalom macrumors 6502

    Davy.Shalom

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    #8
    1) It would make the product look very, very bad to potential buyers that are not wanting to upgrade RAM immediately, or to people new to mac.
    2) It's a marketing strategy. They just want our money. It's business, everyone is out to make money, and apple is no different.
     
  9. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #9
    Yes i understand. Buy why not a BTO option for those of us who know that we will buy our own 3rd party RAM. And a large portion of MP buyers are in this segment
     
  10. linuxcooldude macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #10
    It probably would not work with their "It just works" philosophy. Imagine the amount of people who accidentally configure it without ram, then complain of their mistake to Apple.
     
  11. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #11
    Since it s a custom(er) BTO, they couldn't really blame  now could they? You would have to be a complete muppet to order a MP without the RAM and then complain to . People who are clueless, would not even know or venture onto the BTO order page

    In 's effort to be green and environmental, it makes absolute sense to offer a BTO with no RAM
     
  12. highdefw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    #12
    You wouldn't believe how stupid some people can be...

    Like others said, its suicide to offer a high end computer that non-functioning. And those who are clueless, will gladly pay Apple's premium price for additional ram without knowing any better. Apple thought this through, I promise you.
     
  13. Vylen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #13
    I'm pretty sure even OWC doesn't trust consumers to buy the right thing. The "note" when looking at 8GB RAM modules state they must be only used with the same modules - easier than saying the modules are Registered and can't be mixed with Unbuffered RAM.
     

Share This Page