Why Doesn't the Firmware on my Mac Pro Match???

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by KintoVW, Dec 2, 2010.

  1. KintoVW macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    #1
    Like the title says, the firmware of the backplane and processor board doesn't match. This is what System Profiler reports:

    SMC Version (system): 1.39f11
    SMC Version (processor tray):1.39f5

    I just order and installed a replacement processor board, started it up and the fans are blaring but it's working fine (I'm typing on it right now). Is there any way to get them the same since I think that's why the fans are going nuts?

    Here's the entire Hardware Overview (minus serial numbers):

    Hardware Overview:

    Model Name: Mac Pro
    Model Identifier: MacPro5,1
    Processor Name: Quad-Core Intel Xeon
    Processor Speed: 3.33 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 4
    L2 Cache (per core): 256 KB
    L3 Cache: 8 MB
    Memory: 4 GB
    Processor Interconnect Speed: 6.4 GT/s
    Boot ROM Version: MP51.007F.B00
    SMC Version (system): 1.39f11
    SMC Version (processor tray): 1.39f5
    Serial Number (system):
    Serial Number (processor tray):
    Hardware UUID: CBE00BE8-A96B-5735-9DA7-E821871CAD64
     
  2. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Where did you get that replacement board?

    My 2009 processor tray has the same SMC version as yours, so they probably sent you a 2009 board.
     
  3. KintoVW thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    #3
    The part was from AppleComponents.com. Both the backplane and processor tray say Apple 2009 on them though.
     
  4. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    That's odd because your system identifier says that you've got a MacPro 5,1, so a 2010 model.
     
  5. KintoVW thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    #5
    I noticed that too-I'm really confused:confused:. I've been doing some reading and from what I could gather, the firmware should not mix between 2009/2010. Or at least perhaps no one knew that it could!?!?
    Either way, is it possible to do anything short of another transplant to quiet these fans?
     
  6. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    I'm just wondering what Mac Pro model you've bought in the first place? 2009 or 2010 model?

    And what was the reason for replacing the daughter board?
     
  7. KintoVW thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    #7
    Sorry, I should have mentioned it earlier. I bought the computer without the processor tray and CPU. The backplane said 2009 and since the latest Mac Pro wasn't released until well into 2010, I assumed I needed a 2009 processor tray to match.
     
  8. dissolve macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    #8
    Your system firmware matches that of my 2010 MP. That's probably why it's reporting a model identifier of 5,1. Your Boot ROM is also for the 2010 models (not sure if it's on the 2009s though).
     
  9. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #9
    Here is what an 09 Model Should look like...

    Hardware Overview:

    Model Name: Mac Pro
    Model Identifier: MacPro4,1
    Processor Name: Quad-Core Intel Xeon
    Processor Speed: 2.93 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 2
    Total Number Of Cores: 8
    L2 Cache (per core): 256 KB
    L3 Cache (per processor): 8 MB
    Memory: 32 GB
    Processor Interconnect Speed: 6.4 GT/s
    Boot ROM Version: MP41.0081.B07
    SMC Version (system): 1.39f5
    SMC Version (processor tray): 1.39f5
     
  10. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    Looks like you bought a 2010 motherboard, but a 2009 processor tray.
     
  11. KintoVW thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    #11
    Okay, so we've established that the backplane must be from a 2010 model then. Like I said above, I received it without a CPU tray or a CPU. The backplane said 2009, so I bought what I thought was a matching 2009 CPU tray. I guess the question is: Was Apple still using 2009 boards at one point and just updating the firmware? Or did someone successfully flash the firmware themselves, essentially making a 2009 a 2010?
    As far as the fans though, I'm going to need to replace the backplane with a 2009 (firmware) board, at least that's what I'm thinking.
     
  12. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #12
    You mention System Profiler, so you must have at least some success. I'm curious, does the mismatch cause any problems?
     
  13. KintoVW thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    #13
    Well, that's kind of why I originally posted. The computer is working fine from what I can tell, it's just that all the fans are constantly racing (very loud, very annoying). I know SMC firmware controls the fans so I'm assuming since the firmware doesn't match, that's what is causing the issue.
    Is there any way to change the firmware on the backplane back to that of a 4,1 Mac Pro. The board says Apple 2009, so I wouldn't think it would have 2010 firmware on it but apparently it does.:confused:
     
  14. Johnf1285, Mar 11, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2011

    Johnf1285 macrumors 6502a

    Johnf1285

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #14
    Any news on this? I was wondering what a 2009 Back Plane board would be like if used with a 2010 CPU Board... which would be a similar situation to yours. By the way, you can get the EFI Firmware image to burn to a disc off Apples site. However, knowing Apple I bet 2009 Firmware could not be applied to 2010 hardware and visa versa.

    This would be interesting to know if 2009 firmware can go onto 2010 hardware and if 2010 firmware can go onto 2009 hardware - considering the price difference on some 2009 parts compared to some 2010 parts.

    I notice the 2009 Back Plane is a whole lot cheaper than the 2010, due to the 2010 being newer and having bluetooth/airport standard.
     
  15. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #15
    this has been discussed thourougly in a thread I can not find right now.

    apple always locks the firmware in the last firmware update for each system.
    then, you can not update the firmware any more.

    to use the EFI firmware restore CD, the firmware must be incomplete aka broken, else it will not let you apply the firmware.

    on top of all this, you probably need to reverse engineer the firmware flasher to allow it to flash with another firmware, and disable the check for firmware matching.

    all this is hard. and the prize in the end is low, and for a very narrow amount of users. that is why it will never happen.

    On a funny note though, one guy did succeed in applying 2007 mac pro firmware on a 2006 mac pro.

    This was done by removing the firmware chip, using a device to access the chip, and load a new firmware on to it. Then solder it back on...

    So, yeah... :rolleyes:
     
  16. Johnf1285 macrumors 6502a

    Johnf1285

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #16


    More trouble than its worth. Thanks for the knowledge!
     
  17. telopereira macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    Salvador - Bahia - Brazil
    #17
    High speed fan - SMC Version (processor tray) different

    Hi KintoVW ! How did you resolve your issue ? I'm right now , exactly same problem . Can you help me ? Or I'll have to send back , to change my board ?

    "
    "
     
  18. KintoVW thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    #18
    Ended up that I had a backplane and CPU board were from different years (2009/2010). I had to replace one so both were from the same year. Hope it helps.
     
  19. telopereira macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    Salvador - Bahia - Brazil
    #19
    High speed fan - SMC Version (processor tray) different

    Ok . Thank you ! I was trying to redefine the SMC Version for processor tray , but it seems that nobody knows how to do this , sometimes we have to change SMC Versions of cards or devices to be compatible with our System and/or Applications , so , I wondering that this would be possible with this processor board , but ...
     

Share This Page