Why doesn't the iPhone display my sites properly?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by wesg, Dec 27, 2008.

  1. wesg macrumors regular

    wesg

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #1
    I've been working on a number of websites that use a horizontal navigation bar. Each browser displays the list properly (Safari, Firefox, Camino, IE, etc) except when I view it with my iPod touch. It appears that the width element doesn't work properly.

    View for yourself at
    http://www.ryersonformulasae.com
    http://www.fdigiorgio.ca

    Why doesn't the iPod display these elements properly? What can I do to fix it?
     
  2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Looks like the page does some JavaScript work on the navigation. I use NoScript on Firefox so the navigation didn't fit on one line when I first got to the page. I don't have a iPhone or any other mobile web device to see what you're seeing that isn't correct, but if it has to do with fitting on one line I'd say it's likely related to the JavaScript. It may not recognize the iPod Touch appropriately and thus applies a bad fix to it. You shouldn't need JavaScript to make it fit for all browsers. I do the same thing on my site without any as well as many other sites.
     
  3. wesg thread starter macrumors regular

    wesg

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #3
    Do you have any tips for making something like this work for all browsers without JS?
     
  4. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #4
  5. bielen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5

Share This Page