Why doesn't the iStat Pro widget show the 2012 iMac CPU temps?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Siderz, May 10, 2013.

  1. Siderz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #1
    I've got the iStat Pro 4.92 widget on my 2012 iMac, but for some reason the CPU temp doesn't show up. Is this normal? Is it ever going to show up?

    It wasn't showing up when I got the computer last December, and it doesn't show up today. Became curious again since I installed the Premiere Pro CS6 trial, did an export test, and noticed that for once the fan finally started speeding up. This never happened with CS5.5.
     
  2. Mac32, May 10, 2013
    Last edited: May 11, 2013

    Mac32 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    #2
    The guy that made this software hasn't updated it to support the latest iMac models. I emailed him about this two times several months ago and never got an answer, and still there's no update. Had I known this then, I wouldn't have given him my money... Still it's a very good monitoring program, apart from the lack of CPU support.

    PS: I'm using iStat Menus, which also has the same issue.
     
  3. Siderz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #3
    When I first saw that the CPU doesn't show up, I just expected it would come in an update.

    Well this sucks then :(

    Are there any alternatives? Personally I'd rather not replace iStat Pro, at least, not for one of those menubar things that show the temps, but would be useful to just get a temporary app.
     
  4. Mac32 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    #4
    Temperature Gauge on App Store is good. It doesn't have the same great interface like iStat Pro, but has better CPU support (not perfect though).
     
  5. Imac Sam macrumors 6502

    Imac Sam

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Location:
    Harrisonburg, Virginia
    #5
  6. fuchs, Oct 23, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2016

    fuchs macrumors newbie

    fuchs

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Location:
    Germany
    #6
    To whom it may concern:
    Only today I found the solution to my similar problem in the thread:
    iStat Pro replacement?
    Replacement for iStat Pro, post #98

    zepman‘s post has helped me a lot and now my Mac mini (2014) with El Capitan shows processes, temperatures and many more items. Give it a try, I'm sure it will help.
     

Share This Page