Why don't Apple calibrate batteries?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by macuser154, May 24, 2009.

  1. macuser154 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Why don't Apple pre-calibrate the batteries in their notebooks? Is it just because of how long it takes and Apple could lose money?
     
  2. The Flashing Fi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
  3. macuser154 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Don't you get more battery life though if you calibrate it?
     
  4. DeusInvictus7 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    #4
    No, you get a more accurate reading from the battery meter in the menu bar. That's it.
     
  5. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #5
    They don't do it because the deterioration of the battery starts as soon as power starts being drawn from it. If they calibrated each battery and then the unit sat on the shelf for 2 months, people would complain because it would lose capacity in those 2 idle months.
     

Share This Page