Why exactly do you buy Apple computers?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Jpoon, Mar 20, 2009.

1. Jpoon macrumors 6502

I know there have been literally a million threads, websites, interviews, commercials, etc. about this question. But, I don't usually get honest, detailed reasons as to exactly why.

What I'm looking for are structured, well written and honest answers. I don't want something such as, "I like using OS X more than Windows." To me that really says, "I lived up to the advertising hype and bought a Mac." "I'm a switcher." (remember those days?)

I'm young, only nineteen years old. I go to the University of Memphis, in Tennessee. I'm Chinese American, born in Pasadena, CA. Raised in Tennessee around Memphis. I don't have a degree in anything, I'm not an expert in anything, and I'm not really using refined English that one would find in a newspaper article. Hopefully this is legible to a majority of people who read these forums.

The reason I first started using Apple computers is firstly because my elementary school had some sort of Macintosh computers back in the 90's. Probably some leftover Mac Classics from what I can remember. I didn't personally own one until I idolized my older cousin for a while, (specifically the past two years) and he's what you could call a proponent of Apple. He never really gives me specific reasons, but I just blindly agree with him. Right now, I only own a couple of older iPods since I sold my Macbook. I could definitely afford one (Mac Mini to mac pro), but what I have now is perfectly sufficient in my opinion. I have a self assembled PC, and a netbook for portability. I don't favor Windows, Linux distributions, or OS X. I've used all of them casually and like certain aspects of each. I suppose I'm at a point where the product doesn't fit with me. Granted, none of these operating systems are perfect, and I generally am fed up with all of them after certain events.