Why hasn't anyone posted Handbrake results?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by HungrySeacow, Aug 10, 2007.

  1. HungrySeacow macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Location:
    West Palm Beach
    #1
    I am very curious as to how the new iMacs fair with encoding H.264 via Handbrake. With the AppleTV preset my 20" 2.0 CD gets about 20-25 FPS.

    For a while now I have been wanting to upgrade to a 23" or better setup with 4GB of RAM. Mmm... I could just imagine how wonderful Xcode will be with 2.3 million pixels :).
     
  2. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #2
    So you want to rip a DVD for Apple TV and see how fast it goes on the new imacs. What setting do you use?
     
  3. HungrySeacow thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Location:
    West Palm Beach
    #3
    The Apple TV preset present on the current version of Handbrake.
     
  4. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #4
    Here you go
     

    Attached Files:

  5. stek1961 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    #5
    I've been converting DVD copy of BBC's The Citadel to divx - 10 x 50 mins episodes.

    My old PowerMac PPC 1.6 G5 took about 2 hrs 20 mins to do one ep. This iMac 2.4 took 13 mins per ep.

    Wow!
     
  6. HungrySeacow thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Location:
    West Palm Beach
    #6
    The video card is also used in the encoding process, so i am wondering which model you have. The base 20", midle 20", or the 24" model?

    Seems rather disapponting that the new iMac is no better at encoding h.264.
     
  7. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #7
    HD2600 Pro (20" high-end)

    Keep in mind i was doing other things like running mail, browsing and dashboard was active.
     
  8. HungrySeacow thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Location:
    West Palm Beach
    #8
    I dont think that any of those other programs would have changed the outcome. Don't get me wrong, I like the new iMac and will most likely be picking one up this month or next.
     
  9. quadgirl macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    #9
    Correction, the GPU will not matter when encoding with Handbrake. It uses open source FFmpeg libraries and it's all about CPU number crunching. The new 2.0 ghz iMac should be a little faster than the previous model, but not by much, than the old iMac (ghz to ghz) as it has a better L2 Cache and higher front side bus.
     
  10. drafty5857 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    #10
    Went to the Apple Store yesterday to test the compression speeds for HandBrake and Imovie.

    HandBrake (APPLETV preset):

    MacBook: 21-23 FPS (2.16Ghz)
    MacBook Pro: 29-31 FPS (2.4Ghz)
    Imac: 29-31 FPS (2.4Ghz)
    Mac Pro: 47-50 FPS (3Ghz)

    Imovie (1280x720 30fps Canon TX1 9 min video export to QT Movie h.264 single pass, all other settings default, didn't wait for the job to finish of course):

    MacBook: 50min (2.16Ghz)
    MacBook Pro: 42min (2.4Ghz)
    Imac: 42min (2.4Ghz)
    Mac Pro: 21min FPS (3Ghz)

    As you can see the difference is there but nothing amazing, if you want significant improvement the Mac Pro does the trick.

    I bought the Elgato Turbo H.264 for my 2.16 MacBook and it bumped up DVD compression from 21FPS to 40FPS NICE!! Does not work for HD video though :(
     
  11. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #11
    Good lord, handbrake is not a decent benchmark :rollseyes:
     
  12. drafty5857 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    #12
    True, I agree. I wouldn't base my decision to the machine on that alone!

    But if that's what HungrySeacow uses...probably many others do too.

    I was disappointed with the Imovie HD results though. I would imagine that most people who use Imacs would use that program for their family videos editing, I expected more difference between the Macbooks and the new Imacs, maybe I shouldn't have?
     
  13. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
  14. HungrySeacow thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Location:
    West Palm Beach
    #14
    Thank you for clearing that up. I was under the impression that the GPU played a part from what someone told me.
     
  15. rainydays macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #15
    The GPU can decode the movie provided that the software support is there.
     
  16. quadgirl macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    #16
    Yes, the GPU can help a lot when decoding video for playback, rendering, editing, and the like, providing the software uses libraries such as core video. When you are talking about format conversion, eg, mpeg-2 to h.264, the GPU isn't used. The conversion software just looks at the input format, reads it, and sends it to the encoder for the output format. This process is all CPU based.
     

Share This Page