Why I love my MBP and OSX

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mikethebigo, Apr 18, 2010.

1. mikethebigo macrumors 68000

I just had to help my father upgrade his Dell Latitude from Windows XP to Windows 7. What a nightmare. He would have never been able to do it if I wasn't around to help out.

Never again Microsoft, never again.

2. entatlrg macrumors 68040

entatlrg

Couldn't agree more ... but I always learn the expensive way :(:)

3. neondrgns macrumors regular

neondrgns

yeah sure is hard to put in the disk and hit upgrade

unless you are stealing it...which you probably are...

4. PAC88 macrumors 6502

my dad and a lot of other people probably wouldn't be able to figure it out on osx either.. just sayin

it doesn't matter what OS you give them, computers just don't get along with some.. maybe Ipad OS would be good for these people if you didn't need a computer to go along with it..

5. runebinder macrumors 6502a

runebinder

I work in tech support, the amount of calls we had from customers having issues trying to upgrade to 7, both using as an upgrade disk and using it as a clean install. Took me about 2 hours on the phone with one guy to get it sorted.

So don't be so harsh and too quick to jump to conclusions dude.

6. neondrgns macrumors regular

neondrgns

using an upgrade disk to clean install without a prior installation is a violation of the user agreement dude

7. brand macrumors 601

brand

Actually upgrading from Windows XP to Windows 7 requires a clean install even though it is an upgrade.

Probably be best for you to know what you are talking about prior to posting.

8. ARF900 macrumors 65816

ARF900

Beat me to it

9. neondrgns macrumors regular

neondrgns

yeah sorry about how this adds 1 extra step

instead of hitting upgrade you press custom install, and choose the default c drive and hit next

10. rawd macrumors regular

Having to wipe out your entire OS to upgrade.

Windows 7 was my idea.

11. squeeks macrumors 68040

squeeks