Why install windows?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by roadbloc, Oct 25, 2009.

  1. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Just wondering.... why take up loadsa hard disk space to install rubbish windows to run a few programs? I get get by fine with Crossover, which runs plenty of programs, very complex ones too, without the rubbishness of windows and taking up loadsa hard disk space.

    Just wondering if it gives any advantages, messing with two operating systems instead of one??
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    Many games and other programs that need direct control of the hardware don't run well (or at all) under Crossover.
     
  3. FieryFurnace macrumors 6502

    FieryFurnace

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #3
    Rubbish Windows to run a few programs? :rolleyes:

    I would say, beside the mentioned games, some people know how to use Windows in a productive and proffesional way,...
    For example, 3Ds Max or SolidWorks to name two program I run on Windows.
     
  4. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #4
    Games... folding@home won't use CUDA for OSX... lame.. programming software I can get by via VMWare Fusion
     
  5. chrisrottan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    #5
    For work and school that run on MS OS only, I NEED THEM. If you whine about why we need to, then you shouldn't waste your or our time with such nonsense.
    Mind your own business and keep using OSX. For people with actual needs and work for a living, we do need other OS's.
     
  6. robanga macrumors 68000

    robanga

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Oregon
    #6
    GIS and CAD Software that I have no desire to run in a virtual machine.

    Oh...also Outlook
     
  7. eawmp1 macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #7
    Because on a Mac Pro, I can install Widows 7 on a dedicated drive and run it natively, faster than I could on most "pc's". I can run programs that aren't available or have appropriate counterparts in Mac OS.

    The question is absurd. If you are asking it, you don't need to install Windows.
     
  8. chrisrottan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    #8
    How can you run it faster than you could on most pc's?
    I mean, they use the same components afterall ever since Apple went the intel route.
     
  9. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #9
    Mac Pro's are faster than most PC's (but not all). Most being > 50%.
     
  10. chrisrottan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    #10
    Pc specs:
    c2d 2.66Ghz
    500HDD @7200RPM
    1333mhz bus
    DDR3 RAM

    Mac specs:
    c2d 2.66ghz
    500HDD SS
    1333mhz bus
    DDR3 Ram

    I fail to see how one can be faster than the other :confused:
     
  11. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #11
    Mac Pro. 4 or 8 cores of Xeon goodness.
     
  12. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #12
    The Mac Pro isn't Core 2 based anymore.
     
  13. chrisrottan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    #13
    Oh I misread.
    Then how about a comparison with quads, xeons and i5/i7.
    Same specs can give you different but drastic speeds?
     
  14. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #14
    That wasn't the quote. His Mac Pro is certainly faster than most PCs. Its most likely as fast as a similar PC.
     
  15. chrisrottan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    #15
    I get the point now.
    I totally misread since im focused on the yankees game haha.
     
  16. eawmp1 macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #16
    The point is, you get a great Mac running SL, and as an extra bonus, a damned good PC running Windows 7 - all in 1 machine. That said, if I had no need to run Windows applications, I wouldn't have installed Windows. If YOU have no need to run Widows applications, don't bother.
     
  17. nick1516 macrumors 6502a

    nick1516

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #17
    Games and homework, I do everything else on OS X, just pointing out though(this may be because I've used windows for the past 16 years before I just got my mac) windows has never been a problem for me and Windows 7 is a lot better than vista.
     
  18. dXTC macrumors 68020

    dXTC

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Up, up in my studio, studio
    #18
    There are only two reasons that I run Windows via Bootcamp on my iMac:
    • I'm in healthcare IT, and I'm occasionally on call for a set of applications. My company's network doesn't support Macs (believe me, I've tried), so I have to VPN in via Windows.
    • I have used Cakewalk SONAR Producer Edition, a Windows-only digital audio app similar to Logic Pro, for years. The virtual synths and effects are too CPU intensive to run in a virtual machine. I have invested too much money and created too much music using Cakewalk to discard it in favor of Logic. If Cakewalk/Roland ever decide to port SONAR to Mac, though, I'll be the first in line to buy the new version.

    I do everything else in OS X.
     
  19. Lara F macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #19
    Is there a Mac program that'll allow me to download videos on IceNetwork the way wmrecorder does?

    Until then, I'll use Windows. Plus it seems that while most programs now work in OSX, they really tend to lag behind in either features or performance. :(
     
  20. Akhan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
  21. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #21
    [​IMG]

    Well, if you say it's a waste of space then it must be true and a waste of space for everyone. :rolleyes:

    Here's a better question for you: why bother paying to run Windows and at lower performance (Virtual Machine) when you can just run Windows natively for free (Boot Camp)? The answer will blow your mind. Because people have different uses for it! Some people need productivity, some just need raw performance. Who cares how they go about it? And who made you judge?
     
  22. roadbloc thread starter macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #22
    Number 1, sir, I dont have a copy of windows, and buying one is more costly than my cheap £20 copy of crossover, which runs the little programs I want it to just fine.

    Number 2, sir, I was simply curious on why people chose to install windows over using an emulator, to see if the idea would benefit me in any way, i was not trolling, my question was sparked by something you bots will never have called curiosity.

    So that leads me to number 3 sir... I was never elected judge and never really judged on what people do, only questioned, like any other person who wants to learn.

    I apologise for asking.


    As for everyone else... thanks for your replies.
     
  23. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #23

    You asked "why take up loadsa hard disk space to install rubbish windows to run a few programs" and then claimed "I get get by fine with Crossover, which runs plenty of programs, very complex ones too, without the rubbishness of windows and taking up loadsa hard disk space". Those are pretty brash comments for someone who's "just curious" and "wants to learn".
     
  24. roadbloc thread starter macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #24
    Well if you took offence to my wording of the question, why bother answering? Just take the morale high ground.

    It irritates me that i cannot ask a question (maybe badly worded and i apologise) without some guy who thinks he owns the forums telling me im a troll.

    I think for you its time to log off, take a walk, maybe have some sex and realise that you don't have to take everything so seriously.
     

Share This Page