Why internet in LEOPARD is so slow?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mifka, Dec 6, 2008.

  1. mifka macrumors member

    mifka

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    Moldova
    #1
    Pages are opening very difficult. For example macrumors.com is opening in 3-4 seconds in WINDOWS XP via PARALLELS and in LEOPARD 10.5.5 in more than 30 seconds(FIREFOX,SAFARI,OPERA). I'm using ADSL internet. This trouble appeared 3 months ago. Untill then everything was allright with internet in LEOPARD.
    Can anyone help me?
    Thanks.
     
  2. Hawkeye411 macrumors 68000

    Hawkeye411

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Canada EH!!!
  3. misterredman macrumors 6502a

    misterredman

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #3
    Try using the opendns service. It helped in many similar cases.

    www.opendns.com
     
  4. mifka thread starter macrumors member

    mifka

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    Moldova
  5. misterredman macrumors 6502a

    misterredman

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #5
    Does that mean using opendns didn't resolve the issue? Or you were not able to use opendns at all?

    Did you set opendns on the router or directly on the mac?

    PS.: no need to create another identical thread about the issue.
     
  6. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #6
    lmao why is every brand name in capitals? this MAC/Mac thing is really getting to people.

    mifka try using the Automation feature in Onyx and then restart.
     
  7. mifka thread starter macrumors member

    mifka

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    Moldova
    #7
    I set opendns on mac because I didn't find on the site how to set up my model of router(EDIMAX) and didn't find how to set dns on router(I mean I wrote 192.168.2.1 in browser and there I wasn't able to write dns numbers)
     
  8. Solemony macrumors 6502

    Solemony

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Location:
    Wonderland
    #8
    Mine's really fast maybe try restarting your computer?
     
  9. John Doe 57 macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #9
    This is what you should do:

    1. Download OnyX (a free maintenance utility).

    2. Open OnyX and Click Cancel on these two Alert Panels:
    -Cancel the S.M.A.R.T. Box
    -Cancel the Startup Volume Box

    3. Enter your Password

    4. Click on the Cleaning Tab

    5. In each tab, execute the command. Check all the boxes in each tab. When its finished in that tab, it will ask you to reboot. Say NO. Go on to the next tab and repeat until all tabs are done. THEN REBOOT.
     

Share This Page