Why iPad?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by RonDeGregorio, Dec 21, 2011.

1. RonDeGregorio macrumors member

RonDeGregorio

I'm sure there are countless threads such as this, and probably an endless supply of google results, but I wanted to get your take on this.

I am a graduate student, currently student teaching in a middle school. I see a lot of my colleagues using iPads, and they seem to enjoy it a good deal.

I just wonder what the appeal is, or what the draw is to the iPad in comparison to a light notebook such as a MBP.

I currently have a notebook pc, and a macbook pro with a broken keyboard (using as a desktop currently), and for what I do, these suit me just fine. HOWEVER, I would love to have an iPad, I just am not sure I can justify the price tag.

Also, I don't care about the new iPad 3. I'd take a 1st gen if the price was right.

So, why should I get one?

2. Abazigal macrumors G3

Abazigal

From experience, the ipad is a lot more convenient to use when it comes to "light" usage such as checking your email or surfing the net. It is definitely lighter than a typical laptop, and easier to hold and read, especially when you are sitting or standing inside a crowded bus or train. The longer battery life also means it can withstand a fairly long period of usage before you need to recharge it, meaning you don't always have to keep it plugged in.

To cut a long story short, it lets you do all the things you would otherwise do on your iphone, albeit on a larger screen.

3. gtx281 macrumors newbie

You'd love to have one... yet you don't know what the appeal is? :confused:

4. palpatine macrumors 68040

1. excellent e-reader. no more printing out journal articles. carry around hundreds or thousands with you.
    2. excellent for writing papers / reports. pages software now has footnotes, so you can go entirely without a computer
    3. lighter than any other computer, and even with the bluetooth keyboard, about the same size and weight as the macbook air.