Why is 4 core faster than 6 core?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by tarsierspectral, Aug 24, 2010.

  1. dcpmark macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
  2. Weepul macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #3
    Um, it's not? That graph shows the 6-core is faster. (On that graph, shorter bars are faster.)
     
  3. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #4
    It clearly states time in seconds.

    Normally, that means that the machine that used the least amount of time to complete the task is, cough, fastest ;)
     
  4. tarsierspectral thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    #5
    HAHAHA, thanks for pointing that out. I should probably not be online past my bed time (8pm) :). I think I freaked out after seeing that my MP shipped last night, 3 days earlier than expected.
     
  5. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #6
    6 cores wont beat 4 cores in everything though ;) more applications at the moment are coded for 4 cores or less, but that should change in the next few years ;)
     

Share This Page