Why is 802.1x only available for enterprise

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by daneoni, Sep 15, 2008.

1. daneoni macrumors G4

daneoni

Im a student at university and my school uses 802.1x for Wi-Fi- authentication and i was surprised the phone didn't have...even more so that it is available for enterprise customers but not general consumers.

Obviously its not hard to implement so why don't Apple just add it to Wi-Fi section?

Attached Files:

2. joeb macrumors newbie

I'm almost certain that all the features of the phone are available to the general consumer. I'm not sure how the phone would know whether you are an enterprise customer or just a regular person connecting to a work/school network. There's only one model and only one OS available so it must be there, just gotta figure out how to use it.

Try this http://www.personal.psu.edu/dmt155/iphonecfg/ website for help. It explains how to get the Apple config utility to setup your iphone for a business network. The example looks like a university network with WIFI.

3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

mkrishnan

802.1x is an "enterprise" technology in the sense of being opposed to "consumer" technologies. In that use of the term, you are an enterprise user -- your university is the enterprise in question (you have an 802.1x system at your university... you don't run one on your home router).

The functionality works on all iPhones -- you don't need any special kind of account to use it, AFAIK.

Here's an example of BU's guide to setting up their 802.1x network on the iPhone. You should be able to follow it and insert the appropriate information for your school instead of BU's information.

http://www.bu.edu/pcsc/wireless/8021x/iphone.html

P.S. It's 802.1x ... not 802.11x.

4. VenusianSky macrumors 65816

VenusianSky