Why is Crown Up To Wake Series 2 only?

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by Chupa Chupa, Sep 18, 2016.

  1. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #1
    Anyone have an explanation why this feature is only on the Series 2? Surely it doesn't take more processing (CPU or GPU) power to wake by spinning the crown than it does raising one's wrist.

    If it's just to differentiate and give Series 2 and exclusive feature then why isn't Apple advertising it rather than burying it in literature and the settings?
     
  2. ivanwi11iams Contributor

    ivanwi11iams

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #2
    Hmm, not sure I'd want that feature. Why? If my wrist is in my pocket etc. It might spin the crown by accident and thus power on the screen. Long term killing my battery quicker...
     
  3. matrix07 macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #3
    You mean "Theater mode"?
     
  4. exxxviii macrumors 65816

    exxxviii

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    #4
    Unless the S2 screen has some capability that enables it to be dimly it, it seems like an artificial differentiation between the S2 and other models. It is very cool.
     
  5. frumpy16 macrumors 6502a

    frumpy16

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #5
    It actually might take more processing power to get the gradient dim. It could be that they tested on the "series 0" and it was too jittery. BUT- I didn't know my series 2 did this and it's cool so cheers to you!
     
  6. oftheheavens macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    cherry point
    #6
    Wow i just noticed that if you turn the crown NOT YOUR WRIST you can slowly brighten to current screen and then back down to black. Is this what you are talking about? If so there is no reason it shouldn't be on the other watches.
     
  7. tromboneaholic macrumors 65816

    tromboneaholic

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #7
    I agree that it could possibly be something about the hardware in the new display for Series 2, but it does seem like an artificial difference as was also stated.

    Not a big feature for me personally, but hopefully we'll get more info soon on the reasoning.
     
  8. BarracksSi Suspended

    BarracksSi

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    #8
    +1

    Apple calls this Theater Mode, right?

    Doesn't anyone read the documentation anymore? I guess not, otherwise MacRumors would lose 90% of its website traffic.
     
  9. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #9
    Seems to be "Wake Screen on Crown Up" in My Watch app > General > Wake Screen. Not present on Series 0 either.
     
  10. ZebraDude macrumors 6502a

    ZebraDude

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Location:
    Naperville, IL
  11. tromboneaholic macrumors 65816

    tromboneaholic

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #11
    That's the point of this thread. Why?
     
  12. greenhut macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    #12
    Could be artificial limit - been done before, I'd guess it is more likely a hardware difference on being able to detect crown movement in a "sleeping" power efficient way.
     

Share This Page