Why is Cydia so Painfully slow?

Discussion in 'iPad Hacks' started by duramaxman1, Jan 22, 2012.

  1. duramaxman1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    #1
    I have iphone 4s jailbroken thru windows and it takes Cydia forever to load, 2 minutes at the least. Then when I goto buy something it wont even load sometimes, any info appreciated.
     
  2. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #2
    All the new Jailbreakers are hammering the server. It will die down in a few days.
     
  3. Captain America macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Location:
    Philly
    #3
    I haven't bought anything through Cydiac, but everything has been going reasonably fast for me.
     
  4. duramaxman1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    #4
    I kinda figured the servers where gettin hammered, I was hoping thats all it was. Thanks!
     
  5. globalist macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    #5
    On a related note, why is Cydia still not multitask-enabled?

    Is it technically not possible or just plain neglect on Saurik's end?
     
  6. number84 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #6
    Since apple doesn't really support multi-tasking I wouldn't want cydia to be either - at least not by default. Can't you use backgrounder on it? Besides though, why would you need it to be running in the background all the time?
     
  7. globalist macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    #7
    I want Cydia NOT to reload and re-check everything each time I open it. I want it to sit quietly in the multitask pane in a multitask-enabled state and do its reload business only after I really close it and kill it from processes, then open it again.

    And no I do not want to use Backgrounder just for this.
     

Share This Page