Why is Handbrake so slow?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Gjwilly, Sep 29, 2017.

  1. Gjwilly macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #1
    I changed from the 2014 rMBP with a 3.0Ghz i7 to the 2017 MBP with the 3.1Ghz i5.
    Both have 16GB RAM.
    Everything I've found says that these two processors (I7-4578U) (I5-7267U) should have similar performance. Same number of cores, same number of threads, and same frequency.
    If anything the newer i5 should be the winner.
    But encoding with Handbrake seems to take forever with the new MBP.
    What am I missing?
     
  2. dear.leader macrumors newbie

    dear.leader

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    #2
    It's hard to compare Handbrake's performance when you're dealing with different files all the time. Do you have a single file that can act as a benchmark?
     
  3. Queen6 macrumors 604

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Flying over the rainforest at dawn - Priceless
    #3
    Could be thermal throttling, Handbrake is a beast it will suck up all the system has to offer, in my experience for effective, as in fairly fast encoding you need tone dealing with a Quad Core i7 and or dGPU

    Q-6
    --- Post Merged, Sep 29, 2017 ---
    :) Love the avatar and user name :apple:

    Q-6
     
  4. treekram macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Location:
    Honolulu HI
    #4
    If you have different versions of Handbrake on the different MBP's, the default settings may have changed. I did notice that in the latest version I installed, there was a default setting changed compared to an older version which made it slower (the preset "faster" to "fast").
     

Share This Page

3 September 29, 2017