Why is my dock doing this?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by krewelement394, May 10, 2010.

  1. krewelement394 macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #1
    Why is has my Dock been doing this?
    this has been going on for the past week maybe a little longer but no more than 2 weeks. did i maybe move some graphic settings...? this happens at random times. when i go to dock preferences and move the dock to any other side this goes away, but it is annoying...

    by the way i am running on a Snow leopard, and i have 3GB of RAM. the icons on my dock that are affected by this are random, not always the same, sometimes there might be two only other times 4 etc.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    Disable Dock Magnification: Apple Menu>Dock>Turn Magnification Off
     
  3. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #3
    but i've always had magnification on and never had this problem until now...:/
     
  4. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    Then what's the issue? You need to describe it better.
     
  5. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    It's the graphics glitch behind the Finder and Mail icon.

    What specific Mac do you have and what GPU do you use?
     
  6. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    Oh, OK, now I see it.

    It could be a hardware issue, but I would recommend deleting the com.apple.Dock.plist file from ~/Library/Preferences first.
     
  7. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #7
    ok do you see the icons on the dock for Finder, Mail and photoshop..?
    there are black square pixels... why is that happening? i have never had that problem until about last week. i do not know why i am getting that.

    here is the same snapshot pointing out what the problem is.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #8
    i am using a macbook from mid 2008. running snow leopard. what is GPU? i have 3 GB ram if that matters...?
     
  9. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #9
    GPU= Graphics Processing Unit

    If it is from Mid 2008, I believe it is integrated graphics.
     
  10. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #10
    is that GPU bad? i deleted the file too.
     
  11. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #11
    No, it's just not as good as the current ones. There have been many known issues with the Intel integrated graphics chips, however.

    If you deleted the file, please clear the trash and restart the computer to see if it is resolved.
     
  12. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #12
    Too late to the game.

    Btw, has a restart made it better and if so, how long does it take until the glitch returns.
     
  13. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #13
    well whenever i do restart my macbook, it goes away. sometimes the glitch comes back other times it doesn't. when it does appear it ussually takes from 2 hours from the time i turn it on. how bazar that for almost 2 years i have not had this problem...;\
     
  14. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #14
    If it does not happen right away, it seems like it would be a hardware issue. I'd try running the Apple Hardware Test (found on the Applications DVD that came with your Mac).

    Either way, take it into the Apple Store and see what they have to say about it.
     
  15. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #15
    Have you installed anything short before those glitches began to occur? Has the MB undergone some falling down maybe? Has anything else happened short before the glitches began to appear?
     
  16. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #16
    well actually ever since i installed snow leopard i have been having issues. first of all i cannot update, i get a message saying the file is corrupt and cannot be unzipped, so i update manually...:/

    ahh the only thing i installed was Photshop cs5...:/
     
  17. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #17
    can i use time machine to restore the machine to a day before this happened? or can i just uninstall CS5..?
     
  18. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #18
    No. Time Machine is for recovering lost or deleted files.

    You can just uninstall CS5 though via AppDelete or AppZapper or any other custom uninstall application.
     
  19. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #19
    so if that doesnt fix it how can i restore my settings ?:O

    another thing is that i ran disk utility, i used the verify disk. it tells me there is something wrong with the hardware or something, i cant remember exactly. it tells me to run the utility from the DVD that came with my mac. will that fix it?
     
  20. AlanShutko macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #20
    This is a bug in the Flash 10.1 beta, which was installed with Adobe CS5. Download the Adobe Flash Player from adobe.com and install that. It will get rid of the problem.

    This bug seems to affect people using Intel GMA graphics adapters.
     
  21. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #21
    is this also the reason on why i am getting a message through disk utility?
     
  22. Arrandale macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    #22
    I reckon you should repair permissions. Haven't the faintest clue whether that might help, but it's never a bad thing to have your permissions in order :)
     
  23. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #23
    What error message are you getting?
     
  24. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #24
    what is "repair permission" and how do i fix that?
     
  25. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #25

Share This Page