Why Is my Internet Slow?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by bartsphoto, Nov 13, 2008.

  1. bartsphoto macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    #1
    I have a Mac Pro OS X 10.5.5 processor 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad-Inter Xeon Memory 2Gb 800 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM and my internet is really slow I also have a Laptop which is a Toshiba 17" which the Internet works really good a fast is there some bug i have to fix in the mac pro when i got my Mac i just hook up the Internet cable and that how i set it up Got my mac in May 08 dose any one know whats going on with this to i have to fix a bug thats going on with the internet I useing both safari and firefox and both are really slow. Thanks for the help :apple:
     
  2. DeaconGraves macrumors 65816

    DeaconGraves

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #2
    1) Periods are your friend.

    2) Check out http://www.speedtest.net/ and get your speed on both computers. The computer itself shouldn't make the internet slower (though if you're running a lot of intensive programs i could see that safari or firefox might render pages slower).
     
  3. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #3
    Ethernet?

    Or wireless?

    ---

    Has the drive finished indexing?

    If it stalls and keeps indexing, this makes everything slow.
     
  4. bartsphoto thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    #4
    its Ethernet and what do u mean my drive finished indexing im new to the Mac world been on it for may 08

     
  5. bartsphoto thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    #5
    its Ethernet and what do u mean my drive finished indexing im new to the Mac world been on it for may 08
    :apple:
     
  6. DeaconGraves macrumors 65816

    DeaconGraves

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #6
    Indexing is when the computer catalogs the contents for Spotlight. I'm guessing if you've been using it since May then it probably has finished indexing. But if it is indexing, you will see a pulsing dot in the middle of the spotlight magnifying glass in the upper right hand corner.
     
  7. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #7
    Depending on how you have Spotlight set up, continued indexing will slow things down.

    Sometimes going to Spotlight, and telling it to stop indexing web pages or Mail messages (depending on how many you get) can drop the workload quite a bit.

    If it stalls, and never finishes, this will compound the problem.

    ---

    Can always try to create a new user, to see if it is user based issue also.
     
  8. bartsphoto thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    #8
    here are some of the screenshoots i dont see any dots could it be that i will need more [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    :confused::confused:
     
  9. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #9
    Activity monitor > All Processes (instead of my processes)

    ---

    Though you have ample memory and HD space.
     
  10. DeaconGraves macrumors 65816

    DeaconGraves

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #10
    Is your internet slow all the time? Or only periodically? What programs do you tend to run on a normal basis?

    And most importantly, what type of internet are you using (DSL? Cable?)
     
  11. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #11
    other one that needs looking at

    Console.app > log db queries > all messages

    &

    Console.app > log files > system.log

    Just looking for some major errors tied to network use.
     
  12. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
  13. bartsphoto thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
  14. bartsphoto thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
  15. DeaconGraves macrumors 65816

    DeaconGraves

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #15
    Can you run the speedtest on your Toshiba now? Will go a long way in determining if there really is a problem or if its a perception issue.
     
  16. bartsphoto thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    #16
    this is on the Toshiba but it runs fast on the laptop
    the internet and its wireless
    netspeed of the toshiba
    [​IMG]
     
  17. DeaconGraves macrumors 65816

    DeaconGraves

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #17
    Okay, the fact that the two speeds are almost the same probably means that it's not a hardware issue with the mac pro.

    You still haven't answered what programs you are running on the mac pro when the internet is being slow.
     
  18. bartsphoto thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    #18
    all i have open is firefox and ichat is there a way maybe to see what program is on that i dont see open , or can i see if there is something opening when my mac boots up
     
  19. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #19
    I'm 90% sure you should change your DNS settings on the Mac. Use the DNS servers from OpenDNS.
     
  20. bartsphoto thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
  21. davidwarren macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #21
    opendns.com
    change the settings on your router.
     

Share This Page