WHY is my iWeb publishing both sites??

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by TraceyS/FL, May 2, 2007.

  1. TraceyS/FL macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #1
    I read here this morning that i SHOULD be able to just get the one i have highlighted published. I clicked on it - went up to file->publish to .mac

    It published BOTH web sites on there. I don't want the one i did for a friends breeding business on there (it will be hosted elsewhere by the weekend). I had the same issues trying to get that one on a CD for him to review. I had 3 versions of it, only wanted the one with the theme he'd chosen. Nope, i got stuck with all of them on there.

    This is going to bug the you know what out of me :mad:

    Thanks for pointing me in the right direction -
    Tracey
     
  2. TraceyS/FL thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #2
    OH, and how the heck can i UNpublish that site (friends) without losing it??

    :banghead: We really need that smilie here!

    OK, got it deleted in iWeb. But just tried again to publish just the "tracey" site and it went to do both of them. ARRGGGGHHHHHH.
     
  3. davidjearly macrumors 68020

    davidjearly

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #3
    You Can't. It will publish everything within iWeb's Domain file IIRC.
     
  4. speakerwizard macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #4
    you could either publish to a folder first, or save one site to external media (or anywhere outside of iweb app support folder) publish, then put the site back whewre it came from in the first place
     
  5. TraceyS/FL thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #5
    UGH. What did I read then? What is the difference between Publish and Publish ALL???

    OK, so i'm paranoid on moving the KBR site out of "My Sites". So i publish it to a folder, then move it out of iWeb (delete it), and then publish my personal. Then i can edit KBR again by just moving it in?

    I can do this - but it totally doesn't jive with the thread i read this morning! LOL!!

    I'm going to go try it.... let me know if you hear me crying over it! :D

    Thanks -
    tracey
     
  6. TraceyS/FL thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #6
    Well, it didn't work.....

    Now i have the site i spent 8 hours on on Saturday in a folder. But i can't get it back into iWeb to edit after they add what they need to (i just had placeholders).

    Crap. I didn't need this.... what a stinkin' MESS. :confused:
     
  7. furcalchick macrumors 68020

    furcalchick

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Location:
    South Florida
    #7
    try iwebsites

    i would try iwebsites to manage between different sites. i just noticed this about a half hour ago as i'm touching up my site, and suddenly, it's publishing five sites at once. i wasn't very far into the other sites (only done basic touch ups that took all of five minutes to fix), but i've cleaned things up and now it's nearly ready to be properly published.
     
  8. TraceyS/FL thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #8
    I've got that NOW - too late to save the site i need though :(

    ANyone reading this - don't delete a site without iWebSites at:
    http://mistergregg.com/cocoadrillosoftware/iWebSites/

    At least mine should go fast to rebuild - working out the flow was what took so long over the weekend. I have a template they may like in Rapidweaver (which is FREE this month courtesy of MacWorld), not that i can figure out how to change the name in it.

    UGH.

    Tracey
     

Share This Page