Why is my MBP faster than my new imac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by lulla01, Oct 21, 2009.

  1. lulla01 macrumors 68020

    lulla01

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    U.S
    #1
    I have a 2.4 4 gb ram 512 nvidea macbook pro bought last fall the first unibody 15 inch.

    Today i just got a new imac 3.06 the high end 21.5 model. Just watching youtube videos the computer lags and is choppy my other mac seemed to zip through them?


    Is the nvidea 9600m gt card better than the ATI radeon card with the new macbook pro? thats a 512 card and the imac has a 256 i thought this one is better? let me know

    yeah even while scrolling up and down engadget this computer lags....is something wrong with it?it doesnt seem zippy
     
  2. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #2
    How much physical RAM do you have in each machine?
     
  3. steve knight Suspended

    steve knight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #3
    this sounds like my dell with xp on it. it sure sounds like some wacky problem. are you sure your not running xp?
    have you used system stat pro to see if something wacky is running?
    does it do it with movies in itunes or quicktime?
     
  4. Lava Lamp Freak macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    #4
    Your new iMac should be faster. Are you running any other apps?
     
  5. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #5
    Spotlight finished yet? and have you gone through and updated the spotlight prefs.

    Always dog slow until spotlight finishes.
     
  6. itommyboy macrumors 6502a

    itommyboy

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Location:
    Titletown USA
    #6
    OP I would ask if you are running your new machine out of the box or if you brought in a backup of some sort...time machine, migrate etc..? Also I know it's yadda yadda yadda but it often does the trick - run permission repair maybe even pram reset if those things fail wipe clean and start anew (or maybe try that first depending on user of course). Usually one of those will do you right and have that beast besting your mbp in no time. If not call the mother sh:apple:p. ;)

    *Edit* Also meant to answer your question. The ATi HD 4850 in the latest high end iMacs is a better card than the MBPs 9600. Have a look at barefeats testing it tells the true story http://www.barefeats.com/imac09d.html For comparison the 9600 in the MBP is more or less a re-branded 8800GS which is represented in an iMac on the BF charts. You'll see the ati card blows them all away and barefeats goes on to say "And for $50 more, you can have the 'smoking' Radeon HD 4850. The only Mac that runs games faster is a Mac Pro with the Radeon HD 4870" keeping in mind this was regarding the last best of the best.
     
  7. lulla01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    lulla01

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    U.S
    #7


    Thanks a lot for that i actually have 4 gigs of physical ram im buying 4 more to install windows 7 with
     
  8. macchiato2009 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #8
    haha, my MBP13 with a SSD is faster than new imacs :D

    coming to the point that if only apple offered SSD as an option, the new imac would have been a huge monster ;)
     
  9. Shivetya macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #9
    Two events.

    Initial indexing and background patch downloading.
     
  10. lulla01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    lulla01

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    U.S
    #10
    hello

    yeah i restarted it and it seems zippy maybe it was updating ill play with it for a few days and figure it out
     
  11. lulla01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    lulla01

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    U.S
    #11
    prob

    yeah i just got home from school and trying to use it watching videos off facebook and youtube are very chioppy, i have a 20mbps connection so i dont think its that, someone let me know what to do pleaseee:confused: Like even scrolling using the new mouse its very choppy to go to the bottom of this page.
     
  12. mattyb240 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    #12
    As others have said, click in spotlight and see if it is indexing. Is it up to date? Repaired permissions?
     
  13. lulla01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    lulla01

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    U.S
    #13
    up to date

    yeah its up to date nothing is indexing.....no other programs are open its just choppy why would i have to repair permissions on a brand new computer.
     
  14. uuaschbaer macrumors regular

    uuaschbaer

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    #14
    Here is an idea: post a few links to choppy webpages. When someone else with an identical iMac comes along this thread that person can visit those pages and give an account of their choppiness.
     
  15. lulla01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    lulla01

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    U.S
    #15
    here

    this webpage, when im scrolling up and down its slow scrolling smooth scrolling is enabled and everything ive tried changing resolution...i have the latest flash player i thought this machine was supposed to be mad fast.
     
  16. Shaun.P macrumors 68000

    Shaun.P

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    #16
    Hey I got the new iMac yesterday, the entry level one. The computer worked fine, but the startup was very very slow (grey screen for ages).

    I reinstalled Snow Leopard and the computer boots in 25 seconds - very fast. This is what I'd recommend.
     
  17. lulla01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    lulla01

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    U.S
    #17
    even my dock magnification is choppy.

    i guess ill try reinstall be back in like 45 minutes
     
  18. lasuther macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Haven, Michigan
  19. jdm111 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    #19
    Why buy more ram to install windows 7?
     
  20. lulla01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    lulla01

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    U.S
    #20
    I was thinking i would do that because it is a new machine. It kind of bothers me the only problem is i live in PA i bought this in deleware where there is no sales tax i hope they let me exchange it anywhere and dont charge sales tax, i hope reinstall fixes it because im on my macbook air and it is much smoother than that computer was.

    the superdrive on this thing is very loud too and install takes 45 minutes? something really seems wrong my macbook pro was very fast then again i did use a flash drive to install osx. But the biggest red flag right now is that my macbook air seems to run smoother than the imac did. Please someone correct me if im wrong but that isnt normal right?
     
  21. mattyb240 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    #21
    Ugh. Superdrives are loud, and 45mins for a fresh install isn't that bad. I think you need to step back and stop panicking. Repairing permissions regardless on whether you think it should "because its new" is besides the point. You want a solution I am merely offering a suggestion.
     
  22. lulla01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    lulla01

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    U.S
    #22
    thanks

    i appreciate that, i just called the store those pricks said bring it in well have a genius take a look at it. I dont have time for their "genius's" to take a look at it, i bought this thing yesterday if i want it swapped it should be swapped no BS. thats kind of ridiculous.
     
  23. mattyb240 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    #23
    To be honest it would seem your throwing your toys out of the pram. They probably will swap it *if there is something wrong with it*.

    If you sold a product to somebody and they came in the next day demanding a swap for something else. Wouldn't you want to know why? And what was wrong with it? Or if there is anything they can do to fix it?
     
  24. lulla01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    lulla01

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    U.S
    #24
    i wont get into that in this thread i just want a resolution. ill see if it fixes it within minutes! lets see

    so i reinstalled it seems faster but it also did that when i restarted my comp so i guess ill have to use it for a day or two, another q. If i leave the imac on during the day and use it at night it shouldnt slow down should it?
     
  25. lulla01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    lulla01

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    U.S
    #25
    yeah

    okay few days of using it and after i leave it on for like a day it becomes very slow and choppy using everyday applications, any feedback or advice?
     

Share This Page