Why is my Vector 150 so slow?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by drnebulous, Jun 20, 2014.

  1. drnebulous macrumors regular

    drnebulous

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Location:
    Salford, UK
    #1
    170MB/s write and 255MB/s read

    I was expecting it to be more like 500MB/s write and 1GB/s read.

    Is this normal?
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    OCZ themselves says up to 550 MB/s read speeds and 450 MB/s to 530 MB/s write speeds the bigger the SSD is, thus 1 GB/s is out of the question, especially since S-ATA 6.0 Gbps (S-ATA III) does not provide that.
    If you have a Mac Pro without S-ATA 6.0 Gbps (S-ATA III) card, you are limited to S-ATA 3.0 Gbps (S-ATA II) or even S-ATA 1.5 Gbps (S-ATA I) depending on your model, but it seems you are at S-ATA 3.0 Gbps (S-ATA II) due to your reported speeds.
     
  3. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3
    1) Why you expect 1G read speed?

    2) How you test it?

    3) How you install the SSD? e.g. Just plug it into one of the HDD bay.

    4) Is TRIM enabled? Even though you connect the SSD via SATA 2, I still expect a better write speed.
     
  4. drnebulous thread starter macrumors regular

    drnebulous

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Location:
    Salford, UK
    #4



    1. I'm note sure! I at least expect 400MB/s
    2. BM Disk Speed Test
    3. Yes, plugged into one the hard drive bays.
    4. I don't know what that is?
     
  5. EvilMonk macrumors regular

    EvilMonk

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #5
    Because it was dropped on the head when it was still a kid? :D
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    You won't get anything higher than 255MB because you plug that in the HDD bay which is a SATA 2 port. You already hit the speed limit.

    The writing speed may be further limited by lack of TRIM support.
     
  7. drnebulous thread starter macrumors regular

    drnebulous

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Location:
    Salford, UK
    #7
    I've just researched trim and enabled it via Trim Enabler and it's the same. Which pci data 3 card would be best?
     
  8. EvilMonk macrumors regular

    EvilMonk

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #8
    On a Apricorn Velocity X2 SATA 6G PCIe card in my Mac Pro I hit 540mb/s in read and 420mb/s in write... In my Mac Pro SATA2 ports it hit 253/256 so it would make sense...
     
  9. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #9
    Can you provide the Model Identifier of your Mac Pro?
    :D
     
  10. EvilMonk macrumors regular

    EvilMonk

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #10
    Apricorn Velocity X2...
    http://www.apricorn.com/vel-solox2.html

    ----------

    Mac Pro 2010 12 cores... its in my signature.
    I have 2 of these cards in raid 0 and get around 1Gb/s in read and 850mb/s in write.
     
  11. drnebulous thread starter macrumors regular

    drnebulous

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Location:
    Salford, UK
  12. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #12
    Sorry, I meant the OP. But since all Mac Pros have S-ATA 3.0 Gbps (S-ATA II) at least, maybe it is the SSD having a problem?
     
  13. drnebulous thread starter macrumors regular

    drnebulous

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Location:
    Salford, UK
    #13
    So is it too slow for sata 2? My mac pro is a mid 2012 3.2Ghz Quad
     
  14. EvilMonk macrumors regular

    EvilMonk

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #14
    Depends, wouldnt say slow... Some SSD really need Sata 6Gbps to shine...
    You have SSDs that are really fast in read and slower in write also.
     
  15. drnebulous thread starter macrumors regular

    drnebulous

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Location:
    Salford, UK
    #15
    Ok then, I'll try the pci thing you recommended. Thanks again!
     

Share This Page