Why is Omnigraffle no longer included in bundle?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by zRedbullz, Nov 15, 2010.

  1. zRedbullz macrumors regular

    zRedbullz

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hello,

    I recently bought a new MBA, coming from a Powerbook G4.

    To my surprise, Omnigraffle is no longer included as part of the Mac bundle. IIRC, Apple always used to include the app in their bundle in all computers sold.

    Why not now?

    Have Omnigraffle severed their ties with Apple?

    Thanks
     
  2. jzuena macrumors 6502a

    jzuena

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Lexington, MA, USA
    #2
    The last Omni app that I got was OmniOutliner when I bought my first Intel mini in 2006. My newer mini that I got last year didn't really come with any third party bundled software. Just the latest iLife.
     
  3. zRedbullz thread starter macrumors regular

    zRedbullz

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Interesting that Apple no longer include third party bundles..

    It's a bit of a long shot, but can I copy over my Omnigraffle app from old Mac to my latest one?
     
  4. jzuena macrumors 6502a

    jzuena

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Lexington, MA, USA
    #4
    The easiest way is probably to use the migration assistant tool, but I don't know if that works from a PPC to an Intel Mac. The way I've done it is using Pacifist, which allows you to install individual package bundles without running the main install utility (which will almost certainly tell you that the bundle can only be installed on the original Powerbook G4).
     
  5. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Omni apps are really well written: just drag and drop the application bundle. It's self contained.
     

Share This Page