Why is Safari Flash using all my CPU?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by benlee, Feb 3, 2010.

  1. benlee macrumors 65816

    benlee

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #1
    over 78% for an amazon page.

    It makes my fans kick in like a fighter jet.
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    Cause that is Flash... that's how it rolls

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
    Flash is highly CPU intensive as Adobe has not made a proper Mac OS X port as Apple does not allow some of the necessary access of Flash to critical system files.

    Use Click2Flash to disable all Flash content, but with one click you can enable it again if you want.
     
  4. beaner454 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
  5. imac9556 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    #5
    I second "ClicktoFlash" after reading a post for the news where Steve said something along in the lines as flash is dead.

    Once I installed it, I noticed less "hangups", spinning beachballs, and blowing fans on my Macbook Pro and my "hackintosh" netbook.
     
  6. Jason Beck macrumors 68000

    Jason Beck

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Location:
    Cedar City, Utah
    #6
    THANK YOU. I can really count in you guys! I really hate the cpu
    sponge that is Flash. Installing now.
     
  7. robert05au macrumors regular

    robert05au

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    Dubbo, NSW
    #7
    Under Snow Leopard and Safari 4.0.4 using flash you need to run safari in 32bit mode to have flash work as close as it should.
     
  8. benlee thread starter macrumors 65816

    benlee

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
  9. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #9

Share This Page