Why is Safari screwing up?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by PowerFullMac, Sep 14, 2008.

  1. PowerFullMac macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #1
    I keep getting this a lot today for some reason while browsing the forums, anyone know whats wrong?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    Looks like a server, proxy, or network issue. If you try to reload the page and you don't get the problem, don't worry, otherwise, it may be a larger problem.

    TEG
     
  3. PowerFullMac thread starter macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #3
    Yeah, after reloading its fine but its really annoying coz it started happening a lot recently.
     
  4. Mr.Noisy macrumors 65816

    Mr.Noisy

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    UK™
    #4
    Hi, over the last day or so ive noticed safari having problems opening a few pages, fine when i reload it, but it is annoying :mad:
    I wonder if this will become a bigger problem :rolleyes:
    os is it just a little glitch :)
     
  5. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #5
    Hit the "Reset Safari" and "Clear Cache" button under the Safari Menu, I found that helped once.
     
  6. PowerFullMac thread starter macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #6
    Good to know its not a problem with my computer.

    Apple have a lot of software problems recently, havent they? First iTunes screws Vista (even more then Vista is normally screwed) then this!

    Lets hope 10.5.5 fixes it.

    I have one more problem, too, when I open iMovie 08 its VERY SLOW, then for a few minutes after its closed everything lags... Anyone else have that?

    Will that delete my thousands of bookmarks, though?
     
  7. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #7
    try renewing you DHCP lease or resetting Safari.
     
  8. PowerFullMac thread starter macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #8
    It seems fine, now, but if it happens again I will do that, thanks! :)

    Thanks everyone!
     
  9. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #9
    This is what Reset Safari does, I omit the 2 important things from the reset.
    That menu box comes up when you go to Reset it, so you can choose to do what you want.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. PowerFullMac thread starter macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #10
    Cool, thanks! :)
     
  11. Mr.Noisy macrumors 65816

    Mr.Noisy

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    UK™
    #12
    resetting safari and deleting cache didn't help, removing the safari.plist from library preferences did help..... a lot :), i dont build a history cache as i use private browsing and disable cache via debug menu
     
  12. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #13
    ahhhhh, that's a good one to know for future reference.
     
  13. PowerFullMac thread starter macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #14
    It seems to have sorted itself out for now but if it acts up again I will use your suggestions.

    Thanks for all your help! :)
     

Share This Page