why is slow motion video only 720p?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by bniu, Jan 13, 2015.

  1. bniu macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #1
    Why is slow mo video limited to just 720p? Why is it that the iPhone 6 can't capture 240fps in 1080p? Even with 60fps, couldn't they have done a pseudo-slow mo at 1080p?

    I'm pretty pleased with the iPhone 6, but I sometimes wish the camera could be even better!
     
  2. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #2
    Well you can do a DIY 1080p slo mo by exporting to iMovie and slowing down the whole thing to 2x, that'd give a slo-mo at 30 fps :)

    240 fps at 1080p requires one hell of a lot of CPU power. The A8 doesn't cut it for now.
     
  3. moldy lunchbox macrumors 6502a

    moldy lunchbox

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #3
    I agree, don't be lazy. Film at 60 fps, slow it down on the computer and export as 30 fps.
     
  4. Cloudsurfer macrumors 65816

    Cloudsurfer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #4
    I'm pretty sure the A8 can handle that but the file sizes would fill up your phone rather quick. Nevertheless I think we should've had the option for at least 1080/120p. Even the go pro can do that now.
     
  5. edfoo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    We should be grateful iPhone has slo-mo mode (even in only 720p) for us to play with. This is not an action cam, if anyone want more specific video modes, go get a more specialised video cam. What's next? We expect iPhone able to wipe our arse after toileting? :rolleyes:
     
  6. Playgear macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    #6
    That will be saved for the 6S and 6S Plus. Along with the extra GB of RAM.
     
  7. Shadow Runner macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #7
    It's not all about cpu power, that takes a lot of bandwidth to move all those pixels from image sensor to the storage. High bitrate needs fast storage.
     
  8. richwoodrocket macrumors 68020

    richwoodrocket

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Location:
    Hamburg, NY
    #8
    Do you think it's that simple as adding a few lines of code? It's not.
     
  9. Gmcube macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #9
    For what its worth even my DSLR cant do 60 fps at 1080p.
     
  10. Imory macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Location:
    Wonderland
    #10
    It probably has to do with light. Filming in slow-mo require a good amount of light to make the shots look good. The A8 probably doesn't have any issues shooting 1080p in 240 fps, but a higher resolution would require even more light to get satisfying results, which I think it's something they're saving for a future improved aperture and optics.
     
  11. appleshark macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    #11
    It depend upon the CPU architecture. The one embedded on your iPhone might be capable of only 720p. But in the future they may record at 1080p.
     

Share This Page