Why is this happening in Procreate?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Andy847, Jun 26, 2016.

  1. Andy847 macrumors regular

    Andy847

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Location:
    Chicago Suburb
    #1
    Note Jun 26, 2016.jpg I've been putting a lot of hours into a portrait of a friends dog, mostly figuring out the brushes to use for fur and things like that. Tonight all of a sudden I have these color blotches where it looked like fur before. I've been using the Sable brush in Procreate for the fur, but as you see on top of the portion of the drawing i'm showing, It looks fine, but below now, there is dark outline and almost looks like a Watercolor mistake, which was done with the same Sable brush. The part circled is the problem. Does anyone know why this has happens?

    Note: When working a long time in Procreate, I notice sometimes it'll go wonky on me, where the side bar with the back, forward, thickness, and opacity buttons are will turn clear and not be available to use. Usually exiting out to the gallery and home screen, and entering back fixes that. Not this though. Kind of frustrating.
     
  2. mrex macrumors 68020

    mrex

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Location:
    europe
    #2
    i think Procreates own forum would be better to solve this.

    i do have some problems with the app. many times the rubber doesnt work and i need to toggle brushes to get the rubber to work again.
     
  3. spesifikbrush macrumors regular

    spesifikbrush

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    #3
    It might be because of that brush. Some brushes have watercolor dynamics and effects, maybe using a different brush would help
     
  4. jrs22 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    #4
    When I'm spending any amount of time on a piece in procreate I'll save my work and then add a layer. That way i can return to an earlier stage if something goes wrong. I'll second the suggestion to bring your problem to the procreate forum where you'll be asked what stylus you're using, especially if it's Bluetooth, and which iPad model.
     
  5. Andy847 thread starter macrumors regular

    Andy847

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Location:
    Chicago Suburb
    #5
    Specifikbrush, it was fine a few days before. It looked like the fur in the upper part of my drawing above where I circled. If it was the brush, it would have looked like that from the beginning. I actually should start saving periodically, I should know that from my days as a CAD draftsman. Thanks for the suggestion jrs22. I'll ask in the procreate forums.
     
  6. jrs22 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    #6
    I'll probably see your post there. In the meantime, for the amount of work you do on one piece, I wouldn't just save but save in layers. Even if your brushes are working perfectly there are going to be times you'll want to try a different direction. Layers are perfect for that.
     
  7. Andy847 thread starter macrumors regular

    Andy847

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Location:
    Chicago Suburb
    #7
    I do work in layers, but the problem is sometimes I forget to change when working on a piece. So even though I have multiple layers, sometimes I lose track of which one I'm drawing on and the things get mixed up on different layers with something else. I know it just takes practice to remember that part. Another thing from working in CAD, but it's been a long time.
     
  8. Andy847 thread starter macrumors regular

    Andy847

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Location:
    Chicago Suburb
    #8
    Tonight I figured out why it's happening with the Blotchiness on those parts of the drawing. I decided to see what it looked like with the Background layer turned off and the brush strokes are fine. So it's just the color of the background that is bleeding through, making it appear that way in certain parts of the Drawing. I'll have to find a workaround when I decide what to do for the background of the drawing when finishing it.

    I did hear back from the developers of Procreate and told them I found out why on that problem, but I did still send the drawing file in so they can take a look at the other problem I mentioned with the sidebar going clear and not usable during parts of drawing with the app.
     

Share This Page