Why is this Java window always popping up?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by berlingoodman, Feb 11, 2016.

  1. berlingoodman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    #1
    Hello all,

    I've written Java about this twice but have gotten no response.

    I am constantly being hassled via a pop-up window about using a Java command line tool (see screen shot). I don't know what this even means. After running the search via their site to confirm I have the latest version, I still get this pop-up window. And I've tried this on Google Chrome, Firefox and Safari. This only happens on my laptop, not my iBook. I would really like to get rid of this annoying message.

    Any thoughts?

    Thank you all!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #2
    Try running Malwarebytes for Mac, something is driving the pop up...

    Q-6
     
  3. berlingoodman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
  4. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #4
    Malware detection for OS X, instal run, if you don't want to keep just junk it. Want more protection try Bitdefender (free ) from Apple`s Mac App Store, or for active protection try Avast for Mac.

    Recommend starting with Malwarebytes, as said something is pushing the pop up, it may well be benign, equally malware on OS X is on the rise.

    Here https://www.malwarebytes.org/antimalware/mac/

    Q-6
    --- Post Merged, Feb 11, 2016 ---
    Are you playing MineCraft per chance? My daughters 15" MBP had a similar issue, requiring an update/install of Java, equally all was in order.

    Q-6
     
  5. berlingoodman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    #5
    Thanks for the info. No not playing MineCraft. But I've installed the Java update any times and it still happens.
     
  6. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #6
    Maybe that is the crux of the matter, as you shouldn't need any update for Java for OS X to work, unless a third party application calls for it...

    First I would uninstall the Java update, you can always reinstall OS X from recovery, it won't hurt your settings and application, it will however clean out the OS or boot into safe mode. Try Malwarebyes first the OS asking for an update of Java is not normal. Will also help if you set your Mac`s spec and OS version, as other then may chime with similar experience.

    Q-6
     
  7. berlingoodman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    #7
    Just ran Malwarebytes so we'll see. Not sure what you mean about uninstalling Java and THEN going into recovery mode. Why should I do that exactly?

    I'm using a MacbookPro mid-2010 13inch. Running the latest OS X.
    --- Post Merged, Feb 11, 2016 ---
    Well I just restarted and no idifference. :(

    I should add that this always happens on start up and then intermittently as long as the laptop is up and running.

    AND this didn't happen until after I updated to El Capitain. Any connection?
     
  8. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #8
    Then roll back to 10.10.5 as there are few significant gains with 10.11 IMO

    Q-6
     
  9. berlingoodman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    #9
    No I'd really rather not. Quite fond of El Capitain.
     
  10. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    Uninstall Java and see what's going on. I wonder if its an app having issues with El Cap.
     
  11. berlingoodman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    #11
    I'll try that.
     
  12. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #12
    Enjoy the chaos :) I left that mess behind, if my Mac`s don't run as expected I don't get paid :apple:

    Q-6
     
  13. arggg14 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
  14. Richdmoore macrumors 65816

    Richdmoore

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Troutdale, OR
    #14
    I had this popup for a long time. Something is asking for Legacy Java, but installing oracle Java will not work. It is looking for an older version that use to be put out by Apple.

    It drove me nuts for several OS upgrades, it always asked for the Apple Java install. Each time I would have to go online and find the specific update needed. Here is the one for Lion through El Capitan:

    https://support.apple.com/kb/dl1572?locale=en_US


    After a few OS upgrades over the years, a few months ago I decided I either needed to reformat the computer, or track down and kill the app that had been asking for this Legacy Java program once and for all.

    In my case, It turned out a very old obsolete program called t-mobile bobsled (it use to give free telephone calls) that launched a daemon helper app at every startup up that used the old apple Java. I finally figured it out by going into several system folders until I found the offending program. Here is an article that shows some places to look:

    http://www.macworld.com/article/2047747/take-control-of-startup-and-login-items.html

    I would recommend trying to find the offending app/ process by checking the library & daemon folders above, as whenever the next major OS revision you will have the same problem again.
     
  15. berlingoodman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    #15
    Wow thanks for the very detailed response! This sound like it really could be the thing. I'll give it a shot a let you know!
     
  16. vlug macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    #16
    heh, I didn't even know they did a OSX version. I used to use this years ago on Windows and it was very good back then even detecting and removing the odd virus as well as malware/spyware.

    Thanks for the heads up on the OSX version, I don't think my Clean system needs this but its worth running now and again ;)
     

Share This Page