Resolved Why is Time Machine backing up entire hard drive after a TM restore

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by furcalchick, Feb 24, 2017.

  1. furcalchick macrumors 68020

    furcalchick

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Location:
    South Florida
    #1
    Due to a bunch of strange things happening, I had to use a Time Machine restore to get my machine to operate once again. I then see that it's trying to copy all of the data on my computer now, instead of just the stuff that was changed since this morning. Is there a reason why it's trying to copy everything over again, like it was a brand new machine instead of just doing the normal hourly backup. Is there any way to change this? Thank you.
     
  2. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    I would go with the idea you have went back to point before this morning with the restore and since this is new install to it it is going with entire full first time backup instead of incremental one.
     
  3. furcalchick thread starter macrumors 68020

    furcalchick

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Location:
    South Florida
    #3
    I did select the time machine backup from this morning, the latest one made today. But it's acting like a brand new Mac install. That's odd though. Is there any way to change this?
     
  4. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    No clue but if that is what it is seeing then it going to continue on its merry way.
     
  5. rshrugged macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #5
    See the end of the page here:
    http://pondini.org/TM/14.html
     
  6. furcalchick thread starter macrumors 68020

    furcalchick

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Location:
    South Florida
    #6
    I'm assuming I should follow the pink steps here: http://pondini.org/TM/B6.html and do that, so we can make it quick and have an end to what has been an all day troubleshooting process.
     
  7. furcalchick thread starter macrumors 68020

    furcalchick

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Location:
    South Florida
    #7
    I'm still confused by much of this, since the instructions aren't as clear as day. Should I try to make the Time Machine inherit the backup, or just associate it? It's the same computer, just a Time Machine restore done because the Hard Drive was unable to install OS X properly. After I clear this up, I'll be ready to go on to the next step. Thanks.
     
  8. furcalchick thread starter macrumors 68020

    furcalchick

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Location:
    South Florida
    #8
    This is odd. iTunes thought that it was a brand new computer, and it had to authorize my computer, and that I had two computers authorized, even though this is the only one authorized. Does that mean I have to do different steps now? Thank you.
     
  9. furcalchick, Mar 2, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2017

    furcalchick thread starter macrumors 68020

    furcalchick

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Location:
    South Florida
    #9
    Okay, I did the associate backup, and it still has my time machine at purple updates (even the new ones). Should I attempt to do something to make it inherit the backups as well at this point, or will that be a bit too dangerous now? Thank you.

    Edit: Turns out that the purple tabs are what they are supposed to be on Mavericks. It's all fixed after that backup, and we're back to regularly scheduled programming, hourly backups, and no type of full backup took place. Thanks!
     
  10. rshrugged macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #10
    You're welcome. Good news! Sorry I bugged out on you. I messed with my watched threads and unwatched this one (among others). :oops: If it happens in the future, ping the member(s) like this -- @furcalchick -- or reply to one of their posts.
     

Share This Page