Why is VDCASSISTANT running?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Ilovemacs1, Nov 14, 2011.

  1. Ilovemacs1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    #1
    I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask this but does anyone have any idea why vdcassistant pops up in Activity Monitor when I access the web? Image Capture Extension was also running for no reason the other day. I'm on a 2010 Macbook pro running 10.6.8.
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    Image Capture Extension is a part of Mac OS X... though I have no idea what it does. I've never seen vdcassistant before - perhaps it's part of Microsoft Office 2010 if you have that installed.
     
  3. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #3
    VDCAssistant is related to the iSight camera.
     
  4. Ilovemacs1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    #4
    Thanks for trying but this doesn't really tell me anything... Can anyone help me out here?
     
  5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
  6. dirt farmer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    #6
    Yes, it's the Daemon for the built-in iSight camera.


    In Finder, navigate to /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/

    Select the file com.apple.mio.VDCAssistant.plist and delete.

    Restart your system.

    See if this keeps popping up.
     
  7. Ilovemacs1, Nov 19, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2011

    Ilovemacs1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    #7
    Thanks Dirt Farmer. I can't find that file on my machine through that particular path... However, when I click on the process in Activity Monitor I find this under the "Open Files And Ports" tab:
    Code:
     /
    /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/CoreMediaIOServices.framework/Versions/A/Resources/VDC.plugin/Contents/Resources/VDCAssistant
    /System/Library/Extensions/IOUSBFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/IOUSBLib.bundle/Contents/MacOS/IOUSBLib
    /private/var/folders/Bv/BvuKScAvG-S4Kokowg+L+k+++TQ/-Caches-/com.apple.LaunchServices-025503.csstore
    /usr/share/icu/icudt40l.dat
    /usr/lib/dyld
    /private/var/db/dyld/dyld_shared_cache_x86_64
    /dev/null
    ->0x0d578774
    ->0x0d578774
    /private/etc/security/audit_control
    count=1, state=0x2
    /private/etc/security/audit_class
    
     
  8. Otterbox, Sep 11, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2012

    Otterbox macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    #8
    alt key

    If you hold alt/option while clicking on go in the menu bar, Library reveals itself. That might be why you couldn't find the files.
    Also for me a lot of com.apple files are located in /Library/Cache.
     

Share This Page