Why is Windows failing to install on 1,1 Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by PowerMac G4 MDD, Aug 3, 2015.

  1. PowerMac G4 MDD macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    I am having a bit of trouble here. So a while ago, I installed Windows 7 on my 1,1 w/ Bootcamp, and it worked just fine without any issues. I later, though, got rid of the partition....

    Come today, I wanted to put Windows on this again so that I can test out some Windows-only games with my new Mac-flashed ATI Radeon 5770.

    With the Bootcamp assistant, I made a 75GB partition of my second HDD (after downloading the drivers), and had my disc in for installation. The Mac booted and entered the installation, up until the disk selection screen... I selected my 75GB partition, formatted it and everything, and clicked 'ok.' After loading for a few seconds, it comes up with an error--something like the following: Windows cannot be installed on this drive ERROR 0x2800024. (That's not exact, but it's similar.)

    Can anyone guess why? I was able to install just fine that last time. Also, if I were to get this to work, would updating to Windows 10 be viable, or would that be risky on a Bootcamp'd Mac Pro 1,1?

    Thanks!
    -MDD
     
  2. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #2
    Nope, but here is what I did.
    Buy a cheap DOS Box - cost me £20, (there will always be times that this is useful).
    Install to that.
    Before it gets into the Mac, install all necessary BootCamp drivers and Windows updates.
    Remove drive and pop in your MacPro.
    ReBoot.
     
  3. PowerMac G4 MDD thread starter macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #3
    You know, I actually researched further and found a couple solutions that helped fix others' similar issues: either pulling all other HDDs (that aren't being used for Windows) before installing, or partitioning any extra, empty drives as 'free space.' Due to Windows' lackluster nature, low structural integrity, and overall shoddiness, having extra drives can goof the OS and cause it to give such a cryptic error. However, should none of those solutions work for me, I'll try what you did, or maybe have my brother clone his Windows HDD to my spare one.

    Thanks for the tip!
     
  4. PowerMac G4 MDD thread starter macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #4
    (This extra post appeared for some reason...)
     
  5. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #5
    [QUOTE="PowerMac G4 MDD,

    pulling all other HDDs (that aren't being used for Windows) before installing, or partitioning any extra, empty drives as 'free space.' Due to Windows' lackluster nature, low structural integrity, and overall shoddiness, having extra drives can goof the OS and cause it to give such a cryptic error. However, should none of those solutions work for me, I'll try what you did, or maybe have my brother clone his Windows

    Thanks for the tip![/QUOTE]
    Having drives with GOT and there is logic, Microsoft's FAQ for GPT: requires GPT is all and mixing MBR (Boot Camp) with other drives using GPT.
    I use UEFI and install to GPT.
     
  6. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #6
    On 1,1 you may need to re-create the Windows install disc. The EFI isn't compatible with 1,1/2,1. I seem to recall I had to jump through some hoops, in my Windows 8 box I have the disc I made for 1,1.

    Keep digging, there is a way. I have 8.1 on there in 64bit now, so it is do-able.
     
  7. PowerMac G4 MDD thread starter macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #7
    I installed Windows 7 last time with no issues, but I am having issues now. My other thread was about getting Windows 10 onto the machine, but I am currently trying Windows 7 again. Whether or not Windows 10 will even work, I still need Windows 7 in the first place. I'm going to update the thread with the results of my experiment with said potential solutions.
     
  8. PowerMac G4 MDD thread starter macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #8
    Oh, BTW, I recall having to install 32-bit, back when I was able to install Windows 7 on this just fine. If it's too difficult to get 64-bit working, I don't mind 32-bit.
     
  9. haralds macrumors 6502

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #9
    Windows 7-64 wants to do an EFI boot. It will stick on the "Hit any key to boot from DVD..." When I did this years ago, I ended up creating a custom DVD based on some recipe posted on the web. However, I had the other Windows systems required to do that.
     

Share This Page