iPad Why jailbreak the iPad??

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by clarkkent18, Mar 14, 2011.

1. clarkkent18 macrumors member

I see no reason to jail break the iPad; you cannot get free 3G accesses on it. Yes I am very new to the iPad, but why should I JB it? I want to JB my iPhone 4 to use the tether it to my mac book and my iPad, but the question still remains, why JB the iPad (first gen)

2. drenline macrumors 6502a

drenline

If you see no reason to jb it. then don't. Simple as that.

3. DaBlackMamba macrumors member

I did not JB my first gen ipad and I am not planning on JB the Ipad 2 as I don't want it to be any slower. I like the speed and as I know from my itouch, the thing lags when I JB it.

Really, its the free apps that are the difference between yes and no even if people don't admit it.

4. clarkkent18 thread starter macrumors member

But I just got it two days ago, I was just making sure that I was not over looking something. Is there a free app if I JB it that will give me fee 3G so is that only with the iPhone??

5. svenn macrumors 6502

6. thunderclap macrumors 6502a

thunderclap

The big one is WiFi tethering so you don't need to plug in your iPad to sync with iTunes.

7. thundermustard macrumors regular

There is one good reason to jailbreak. RetinaPad. Takes your iPhone apps from jagged to beautiful.

8. George Knighton macrumors 6502a

George Knighton

It seems to me (and I admit that I do not know much) that the single biggest reason to jailbreak the iPad would be to be able to tether a 3G iPad with MyWi.

iOS 4.3 doesn't give you the hotspot option for the iPad that it gives the iPhone.

9. Bearxor macrumors 6502a

There's a few reasons I did mine.

RetinaPad - Why Apple doesn't force iPhone apps that have 960x640 res to display them on the iPad is beyond me. I guess it creates an artificial market segmentation.