Why just 2GB?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Santabean2000, Jun 15, 2009.

  1. Santabean2000 macrumors 68000

    Santabean2000

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    #1
    As the title suggests, why is the Air, esp the higher end model, limited to just 2GB of RAM?!

    At least 4GB should be on offer, surely. Anyone any ideas why this is not the case?:confused:

    Cheers
     
  2. CalMin macrumors 6502a

    CalMin

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #2
    The Macbook Air is not for heavy lifting. 2GB is ample for the typical light duties of this notebook.
     
  3. sparkie7 macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
  4. Santabean2000 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Santabean2000

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    #4
    Yet the whitebook can be configured with a lot more RAM.:confused:

    I love having all necessary apps open with no need to worry about running out of juice.
     
  5. Gruber macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #5
    Heavy lifting

    Of course the Air is fine for serious work, it is not a netbook but offers similar oomph as desktops did not too long ago. Photoshop & Co will run just fine, and Java programming is possible, too.

    For those willing to shell out close to and above 2K for a more portable laptop, more RAM would often be very interesting. And for some, 2GB will be a dealbreakingly little.

    I expect that something like this happened before WWDC:

    Steve: Phil, if you don't give me a little extra manpower, my secret iPad is not going to be ready by the end of June, and everbody will hate me!
    Phil: Sorry, everybody is busy updating the existing portables...
    Steve: Just give me Gary and his fire-brigade for a few overnighters.
    Phil: But Gary is supposed to get done with the new revision of the Air!
    Tim: Uum... I don't know how to break the bad news to you, guys...
    Chorus: WTF?
    Tim: There are some pretty annoying last minute glitches in the new functions of MobileMe. The guys are booked solid.
    Phil: There, Steve! I told you that your 2lbs iPod would have to wait until next year!
    Steve: Hrmpf.
    Tim: But, but. What happens to the Air? Steve wanted to try his new Nano-DVI connectors on the new platform...
    Phil: Stuff it. The hinges break anyway, and the form-over-function pimps turn out to me a much smaller clientele than initially expected. Tell people to buy small MacBooks. Hey, while you are at it, promote the small Macbook to Pro status.
    Steve: You mean, accept defeat? No more airy hotness?
    Phil: Hm, didn't we just plan to do the scheduled the cpu clock increase? Maybe we can sell this as an update?
    Tim: This could work, but everybody will laugh at us!
    Phil: Shuddup, and listen to the turtlenecks... Pimps got no brains. Just make it cheaper, and everybody will be happy.
    Steve: Hrrrm. I will be back! Just wait!
     
  6. oscillatewildly macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    23 Railway Cuttings
  7. Airforcekid macrumors 65816

    Airforcekid

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    United States of America
    #7
    Its os only needs 512MB and snow leopard 1GB so its still double what it needs. Since its built for email/web some video and photo its dosent need more until its next update.
     
  8. Airforcekid macrumors 65816

    Airforcekid

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    United States of America
    #8
    Its built direct into the system no way to change it.
     
  9. Migwellious macrumors newbie

    #9
    my macbook [white 2.0ghz nvidia] feels slow with 2Gb RAM, was expecting more speed somehow, am a bit disappointed actually.


    first post btw :)

    ~m
     
  10. Veinticinco macrumors 6502a

    Veinticinco

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #10
    Why just 2GB? Because they are run by the worst kind of cheapskate beancounters, the kind who drop elastic-tethered coins into blind beggars' upturned hats.
     
  11. Veinticinco macrumors 6502a

    Veinticinco

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #11
    Soldered on, so you can't upgrade.
     
  12. Veinticinco macrumors 6502a

    Veinticinco

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #12
    I'm sorry but you're generalising here, suggesting it's nothing more than a netbook even though you haven't said so specifically. The MBA is VERY much more than just a netbook. Netbooks don't have Core Duo 2 2.13GHz processors in there or 128GB SSDs.

    Aside from the OS, some of us use highly-intensive pro apps - for which 2GB is like straining your workflow at the leash. Would have cost them very little to solder a 4GB chip in there - I'd have preferred less of a discount to offset the extra cost if it meant a 4GB chip in there.
     
  13. oscillatewildly macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    23 Railway Cuttings
    #13
    Hi Airforcekid and Veinticinco,

    I meant - is cramming on 4GB in the same space disproportionately more expensive than sticking the 2GB on the board? The price of 2 x 2GB versus 1 x 4GB. I'm aware the memory is soldered.

    Cheers,
    OW
     
  14. Veinticinco macrumors 6502a

    Veinticinco

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #14
    Sorry understood, just read it like that.

    Yes it's more expensive as 4GB chips are still priced disproportionately high in comparison to 2GB chips (I've seen as much as 10x price as 'upgrade' kits), but even Apple with their notoriously high priced RAM BTOs, would be able to offer a 4GB option and swallow the cost, due to their relationship with Hynix/Samsung whoever. Alternatively it could just as easily have been offset - as I said above, I'd have preferred them to have reduced the price by $5-600 instead of $700 if it meant putting a 4GB chip in there.
     
  15. oscillatewildly macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    23 Railway Cuttings
    #15
    Veinticinco,

    Thanks.

    Agree about reducing the price less in return for 4GB.

    Cheers
     
  16. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #16
    The space on the logic board takes up similar to two dimms of 1 GB each. Apple could have used the same space for 4GB but chose not to. I would guess that the net cost for Apple would be about $15 to $20 more.

    I think Apple delayed the new high end MBA because the 256 GB SSD wasn't ready. I think Apple planned to have the new high end be the low end. I think they used leftover boards for the low end now while waiting for new high end to be finalized. If one considers the Adamo, Sony and Lenovo competition, it makes perfect sense. Some of those have low end with 2 GB RAM and smaller SSD. And they have high-end with 4 GB RAM and larger SSD.

    Therefore, I see a new high end added to the MBA lineup.

    2.13 GHz
    4 GB RAM
    256 GB SSD
    New battery tech
    OLED display

    I would think this makes perfect sense. In the meantime, Apple sells the leftover boards and gives the Air a chance at low end pricing to sell better. I think the new high end will be priced as an upgrade luxury MBA for those who want ultra portability with ultra power for $2199 to $2499.

    This theory makes perfect sense to me. I would expect it as early as next month in Jobs presentation to as late as November. Then we can all be happy and upgrade yet again!!!
     
  17. Veinticinco macrumors 6502a

    Veinticinco

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #17
    Scottsdale, please stop it - by 'it' I mean including an OLED display in the next revision specs. Just no way it's going to happen in 2009, especially at this price point. It will be a luxury BTO towards the end of 2010 as the economy (hopefully) starts to pick up again.
     
  18. crackbookpro macrumors 65816

    crackbookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Om nom nom nom
    #18
    I agree, this is no netbook.

    Really, I would be more interested in the MacBook Air if it did indeed have 4GB of memory...(and was a little less money ;)). Calling it a netbook - is wrong, and is not what Apple is trying to do.

    I see the MBA having a higher memory capacity in the next MBA upgrade...which is not for awhile I'm guessing :confused:

    if Apple does that, and can put in a larger hard drive(200GB+)...I'll be buying an MBA...c'mon :apple: ...do it!

    CrackBookPro:cool:
     
  19. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #19
    God, why does my prediction bother you so much? There is a rumor of OLED displays by LG making their way into a Mac this Summer. Apple signed a huge deal for something like a billion or more dollars to provide displays for Apple. LG has an OLED display ready right now for notebook markets. I think Apple/Jobs would love to make a high end MBA the first with an OLED. AND, the MBA would benefit the most from an OLED. Furthermore, more people would take the plunge and spend the extra for the display in the MBA. I really see this as possible this year for the MBA!
     
  20. hodgeheg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    #20
    Carefully thought through and plausible post as always. However I suspect OLED will be a bit longer coming, for price reasons (but I hope I'm wrong!)
     
  21. Veinticinco macrumors 6502a

    Veinticinco

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #21
    Easy there, wasn't having a pop at you, maybe I should have added an exasperated/pleading/stop the pain smilie if one existed?

    Just your unbridled enthusiasm can be a little, well, saccharine at times. Most of us expecting a decent MBA upgrade feel bitterly disappointed this week, yet you're still out there (and it is admirable if a little unrealistic) banging the Cupertino drum, dripping with enthusiasm, and lauding the price drop as something we should be thankful for, when in fact it's the least they could have done to keep the product alive.

    As for the OLED rumours, I know - in fact I started the thread that posited it as a theory for the MBA in the first place - albeit I think I said it was more likely to be a rev.D. I just don't think given what they've provided and taken away with this summer update, that an OLED screen, ready or not, is going to find its way into an Apple product in 2009 or even early 2010. It's hugely expensive hardware tech, and will remain so for quite a while, and will first appear as a BTO only. Strategically it doesn't make sense right now, much as I'd like to think and argue otherwise.
     
  22. Maven1975 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #22
    I can't wait for the MBA to have 4GB. This way these threads will cease to exist.

    Apple is going to stroke these 4GB consumers for top dollar next revision (And that sucks). I know there are some out there that NEED 4GB, but these same people would also like 8GB's as well.

    Also,

    Put me on the list of people the does NOT care/want a glass on my MBA as well.
     
  23. Santabean2000 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Santabean2000

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    #23
    So cost seems to be the biggest reason at the mo. eh. 1x4GB is a lot presently.

    I wonder then if there can be a subtle design revision to incorporate a second slot, (although not tiny, it's not like the RAM is a huge piece of componentry!).

    I sense a real chance for Apple's Air to come of age here:
    reasonable price + reasonable/better performance (as compared to other ultra-portables)+ sweet form factor = a winner eh?
     
  24. Kwill macrumors 68000

    Kwill

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    #24
    Yea, they'll be replaced with "Why just 4GB?" threads as opposed to 8GB.
     
  25. Maven1975 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #25
    Yup
     

Share This Page