Why MBP does not support HDR and Atmos?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hajime, Dec 1, 2018.

  1. hajime macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #1
    Any idea? If connected to 4K HDR TV, can HDR and Atmosbe enabled?
     
  2. _Kiki_ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    #2
    you should ask this question to Apple support
     
  3. SDColorado Contributor

    SDColorado

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    #3
    Apple TV 4K is the only Apple device to currently support Dolby Atmos. I am not sure if Apple has any plans to expand support, but I am guessing not as they would rather have you buy the Apple TV.
     
  4. hajime thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #4
    That is a problem created by Apple. They want you to buy every piece of their devices. They don't want to make multi-functional devices. No touch screen no pen, need to buy an iPad. No phone function, need to buy an iPhone. No 4K/Atmos, need to buy Apple TV. No compiler to do Xcode on the iPad, need to buy a Mac, etc...
     
  5. _Kiki_ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    #5
    So, why you buying Apple if the most things are crippled ?
     
  6. SDColorado Contributor

    SDColorado

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    #6
    Sure. You and I and others may not like it, but it’s a part of what has made them a $1B company. Apple will do what Apple will do.
     
  7. hajime thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #7
    Until TC is replaced?
     
  8. tromboneaholic Suspended

    tromboneaholic

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #8
    It was the same way with Steve Jobs v1 and Steve Jobs v2.

    Keep in mind most CEOs are looking at the big picture and the company's future, and it's people whose name you don't know that make decisions about HDR and Atmos support on MBP.
     
  9. hajime thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #9
    But at least under Steve, Apple did not solder key components and made it difficult for users to upgrade/repair the computers. They also did not intentionally do something to make customers to buy new products. I have been with Apple since Apple II so I know.
     
  10. tromboneaholic Suspended

    tromboneaholic

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #10
    It started under Steve, actually.
     
  11. SDColorado Contributor

    SDColorado

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    #11
    More specifically to your question, I believe that the issue is a limitation with MacOS where it does not pass through HD audio formats.

    So technically you can get your MBP to pass through HD audio formats if you go through Bootcamp and boot to Windows.

    Edit: I know that’s a roundabout answer, but your question was about why MBP won’t support HD Audio such as Atmos :)
     
  12. FrostyF macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    Location:
    Western Canada
    #12
    Why doesn't MBP support [any feature it doesn't currently have]
     
  13. hajime thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #13
    If it works under Windows, it is fine.
     
  14. SDColorado Contributor

    SDColorado

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    #14
    The limitation is with the OS, not the hardware. It will work with Windows.
     

Share This Page

13 December 1, 2018