why my 2010 macpro 5,1 X5690 with poor score?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by xnathanh, Jan 6, 2017.

  1. xnathanh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Location:
    irvine
    #1
    why my 2010 macpro 5,1 X5690 with poor score?(score on the attachment)

    is the problem with installation? anyone have idea?

    thanks .
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Troy2000, Jan 6, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2017

    Troy2000 macrumors regular

    Troy2000

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #2
    Based upon the single-core score, your multi-core score is 29,520 (2,460*12). There is most likely a problem with your Geekbench installation.

    Were this a 64-bit benchmark, your multi-core score would be approximately 32,000.

    EDIT: Disregard the above. This is only applicable to Geekbench 3.
     
  3. xnathanh thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Location:
    irvine
    #3
    here is the normal score list....
    upload_2017-1-6_16-59-0.png
    --- Post Merged, Jan 6, 2017 ---
    i download the Geekbench 4 on https://browser.primatelabs.com/ then install...should not have problem...
     
  4. Troy2000, Jan 6, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2017

    Troy2000 macrumors regular

    Troy2000

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #4
    Ah, I see. It would appear that Geekbench 4 introduces a new measurement system. The X5690 returned a score of approximately 32,000 under Geekbench 3.

    In any case, the scores listed on that page are all 64-bit benchmarks, which is why they are higher than yours. The Geekbench Tryout only allows you to perform 32-bit benchmarks.
     
  5. xnathanh thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Location:
    irvine
    #5
    they are use same version of geekbench and same ram,same OS,they are all use 64-bit to test....
    https://browser.primatelabs.com/v4/cpu/search?dir=desc&q=macOS+10.12.2+X5690&sort=multicore_score
     
  6. fastlanephil macrumors 6502a

    fastlanephil

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #6
    My 2009 5,1 Mac Pro with dual 5690X and 32GB of memory running 64-bit Geekbench 4 scored 2865 single -core and 19678 multi-core. Running in 32-bit single-core is 2822 and multi-core is 18758.

    That's with no apps running besides Geekbench.

    Your Mac Pro is scoring unusually low in single and multi-core mode.
     
  7. xnathanh thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Location:
    irvine
    #7
    yes,that's make me confuse ....i dont know why,,someone know why? any same problem?
     
  8. fastlanephil macrumors 6502a

    fastlanephil

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #8
    You could try running Apple Hardware Test. Shutdown and do a power button restart, then quickly hold down the D key.
     
  9. xnathanh thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Location:
    irvine
    #9
    AHT doesn't work.....hold D until when?
     
  10. fastlanephil macrumors 6502a

    fastlanephil

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #10
     
  11. xnathanh thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Location:
    irvine
    #11
    is not the scores about the cpu quality,my geekbench 4.0.3 64-bit scores is 16000 which unnormally low,I use Imenu checked the temperature CPU a is 45-58,CPU b is 60-70,do you think the temperature is the reason why scores getting low? maybe the cpu B is bad one?
     
  12. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #12
    The temperature itself is not a problem at all. However, what's wrong is CPU A usually about 10C warmer then CPU B, but not cooler.
     
  13. xnathanh thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Location:
    irvine
    #13
    I have no idea with that ,what can I do?
     
  14. thornslack macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    #14
    Your scores are in line with an 8 core 3.46 system, so something is definitely wonky. Temps are not absurd for a system under load. Possible engineering sample processor? Without running diagnostics I'm not sure what else to recommend. Try a different benchmark to rule out geekbench misbehaving.
     
  15. xnathanh thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Location:
    irvine
    #15
    Very pleased to see your meaningful answer, do you think is because the motherboard does not recognize 12core? does anything need to set up on the os? i will update running diagnostics later,thanks again.
     
  16. Wiltonian macrumors member

    Wiltonian

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #16
    What does your "about this Mac" say? Have you used Activity Monitor (CPU usage display) to check that all 12 cores are being used? You may need to play around to find s/w that uses all 12 (an export in Quicktime uses all 6 in my cMP pretty evenly.) Someone higher was suggesting that one of your CPUs may be defective, but that would be hard to isolate, I think.
     
  17. thornslack macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    #17
    His geekbench report shows both processors and all 12 cores. Maybe the chips are throttling for some reason. It could be a defective CPU or an engineering sample, but you'd have to physically look at the processor to determine that. Alternatively, maybe the processor didn't seat properly during the upgrade process. If the processor is misaligned slightly or not tamped down properly by the heatsink I would think you'd get the fan issue, but maybe it could result in odd performance like this. But I would run hardware tests before I went about reinstalling/checking the processors. Did you do the upgrade yourself?
     
  18. flowrider, Jan 9, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2017

    flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #18
    The Geekbench score the OP posted was run in 32 bit. I have a 5,1 with 8 core 3.46 (2 X5677) CPUs. I have lost my faith in Geekbench since it's update to 4.0.3? It makes no sense to me now. Anyway my 64 bit score is attached.

    Now, what's really strange - My Tryout of Geekbench 4.0.3 will not allow me to run a 32 bit test, but it did allow the OP to run his???? Very puzzling.

    Geekbench 4 score.png

    BTW, The Open CL Benchmark will not run on my system. MVC modified GTX780.

    Lou
     
  19. xnathanh thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Location:
    irvine
    #19
    yes, i will going to reset the cpu position,let's see ,thanks
    --- Post Merged, Jan 9, 2017 ---
    my scroes is in left side,the power using between 207-350w
     

    Attached Files:

  20. TzunamiOSX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
    #20
    I have seen a problem like this in an other forum (poor score under cinebench). The problem was a defective RAM module.
     
  21. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #21
    From your screen capture. It actually shows CPU A is the warmer CPU o_O
     
  22. namethisfile, Jan 9, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2017

    namethisfile macrumors 6502a

    namethisfile

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #22
    Hi,

    I recently got a used Mid-2010 Mac Pro 6-core 3.33 Ghz and got the score below. Wondering if it's normal.

    Thanks!

    [​IMG]

    PS--I am also curious why this Mac has CPU called X5680 when in the Geekbench chart for Macs, the Mid-2010 6-core Mac Pro's have W3680's?
     
  23. xnathanh thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Location:
    irvine
    #23
    Why? Not b? I even can't see CPU b vtt
     
  24. namethisfile macrumors 6502a

    namethisfile

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #24
    Alright. New score. Broke 12k this time. And, I added my Open CL score.

    I think this is normal, right? I'm seeing the X5680 score around 12,000 according to the benchmark at Geekbench.

    But, the Open CL score for the little RX460 looks cool. Higher than GTX 1070 according to Geekbench Open CL benchmarks...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  25. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #25
    Very obvious, CPU A is warmer.

    Screen Shot 2017-01-09 at 20.49.31.png
     

Share This Page