Why My Leopard never success shutdown?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by jauhari, Jun 8, 2008.

  1. jauhari macrumors regular

    jauhari

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #1
    I don't know why, after upgraded to latest 10.5.3 when I shutdown my MBP never success, my MBP keep it on. So I must turn off by pressing power button for 5 - 10 seconds.

    What's wrong? and how to fix my shutdown problem?

    Best Regards
     
  2. G-Com macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Location:
    North of The 'Nati
    #2
    Run the Activity Monitor. Then select My Processes and see if there's something unusual or unexpected running. Force Quit from that and then try a shut down.
     
  3. jauhari thread starter macrumors regular

    jauhari

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #3
    I was check it with Activity Monitor and there nothing weird on it. Everything run with perfect.

    I was tested to force shutdown with power button than I turn on again. and after my MBP ready to use and test to reboot, run with perfect. But if I used this MBP for my work and try to shut down, the problem will show up again :(

    I was try fix it by run several command with OnyX and the problem not yet resolved.

    So what's the problem? Please give me advice
     
  4. Amdahl macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    #4
    This is a known bug in 10.5.3. It can be triggered by many different scenarios, including running Firefox or any related code. Mozilla has a workaround in their development versions, but the problem itself is in OS X.
     
  5. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #5
    Do you use the bittorrent client called Transmission? If so, that program currently has a major bug that causes leopard to die a slow death that doesn't even seem to be related to Transmission.
     
  6. applefan69 macrumors 6502a

    applefan69

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Location:
    Medicine Hat
    #6
    I use transmission on all versions of leopard so far, and I use it ALL the time every day, its in my "Start up on login" items, so basically its ALWAYS running in the background, and i have no had a single problem from it.

    Let alone even heard of what your talkign about. Could you please elaborate more? Quite honestly way you put it, has given me a bit of a scare i dont want to have my leopard messed up.
     
  7. JangoFett124 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #7
    motulist: What are you talking about? This has nothing to do with Transmission, and you speak of a problem that hasn't even been conclusively determined to be caused by Transmission, and definitely is an issue that has hit VERY few users. Please, stop spreading misinformation.
     

Share This Page