Why my MBA 2010 is so slow?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by dudulang, Nov 11, 2010.

  1. dudulang macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    #1
    Sorry for opening a new thread. I read the thread talking about the boot up time 7-10 sec slower after 10.6.5 update, but my story is a little different.

    I got my MBA last week (2.13GB, 4GB, 256SSD). Before the update of 10.6.5, the boot up time was about 25 seconds. After the update today, boot up time is around 42 seconds. I have restarted several times and it remains at 42 seconds. (It takes 20 seconds before the Apple logo appears, and another about 20 seconds to show the desktop). But after reading that thread, I heard that other's MBAs boot up within 10-15 seconds. I know it's not a such big matter like sky falling, but it's really frustrating. I tested with my girlfriend's MBP 13" 2009 with 250 GB HDD and it can boot up within 35 seconds, even faster than my new MBA.

    Does anyone one why my MBA is slow? Is there something I can do to fix this problem?
    Any reply useful would be very appreciated. Thank you in advance.
     
  2. dudulang thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    #3
    Thank you for your reply. Can you tell me what is exactly the Resetting PRAM and NVRAM please?
     
  3. Bluemeanie1976 macrumors 6502a

    Bluemeanie1976

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Location:
    Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria
    #4
    It's explained in the link.
     
  4. dudulang thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    #5
    Thank you very much, dude. I tried this and my boot up time is now 12 seconds. Can you or someone else tell me what does this resetting function? I am really curious about it. Should I do this resetting regularly to keep my MBA booting fast? Thank you again.
     
  5. Gen macrumors 6502a

    Gen

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #6
    resets your physical ram
     
  6. kdoug macrumors 6502a

    kdoug

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA USA
    #7
    It's generally looking for your start-up volume. This happens sometimes after a system software update or if you shut your Mac down incorrectly.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1242
     
  7. Fuchal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    #8
    You could also manually set your startup disk in System Preferences.
     
  8. Pipper99 macrumors 68000

    Pipper99

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #9
    Thanks so much. This reduced my boot time from 35 to 15 seconds.
     

Share This Page