why no ext. ant. on Time Capsule +Ipad3+ATV3

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Red Fuji, Jun 6, 2012.

  1. Red Fuji macrumors member

    Red Fuji

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Location:
    USA-Pacifc Standard Time
    #1
    Why doesn’t the Time Capsule have external antenna(s)? It is a wireless reouter-right? I am concerned with its Wi Fi range compared to traditional ext. antenna routers.

    I am thinking of replacing my three-antenna Trendnet TEW-633 router with the Time Capsule 2 TB to control with an Ipad 3 and Airplay to ATV 3 going into an AVR home theater.
     
  2. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #2
    mainly because that would go against Apple's design aesthetics. Also afaik there are no real receptions issues with the TCs or Extreme routers.
     
  3. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #3

    Most of the latest generation router have no External antenas, this allow designer to pass FCC with more powerful amplifier (since the hooks for the end user replacing the antena with a bigger one is NOT there).

    You have nothing to worry about

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Red Fuji thread starter macrumors member

    Red Fuji

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Location:
    USA-Pacifc Standard Time
    #4
    I been researching on Ipad/Time Capsule compatibilty and so far i am coming to the conclusion that the Ipad and Time Capsule arent exactly marriage material; time Capsule needs a PC/Mac and the Ipad is just a dummy terminal. That sucks because I was hoping to use TC as an Ipad NAS device(as name implies.) I dont have a Mac. is it possible for an Ipad to pull content from TC without a Mac middleman? or is the TC a strictly backup device for PC/Mac?
     
  5. The DRis macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Oceanside, CA
    #5
    I didn't get the TC. Read too many bad reviews. Better off to get the Airport Extreme and an actual NAS.
     
  6. diamornte macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    #6
    Yeah we have a time capsule and Apple TV and always wished Apple would introduce the ability to play our iTunes library on it... Our Sonos is able to access the Time Capsule as a NAS, why can't Apple TV?
     
  7. Omne666 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #7
    Cause their main product is iTunes. They want you to use that as the hub.
     
  8. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #8
    Yeah, but it goes against their aesthetic. It complicates life, you need to keep your Mac on or connected to your network in a way that it can be woken.

    Just let the TC run a stripped down version of iTunes like every single other NAS uses Firefly Media Server...

    B
     

Share This Page