why no flash on ip4 ?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by jigsb007, Apr 30, 2012.

  1. jigsb007 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #1
    hi all,

    i have iphone4 and ipad2 (Both JB ), the strange think , i can play video on my ipad2 using safari, but the same website gives me error " need Flash " on iphone .

    Whay is that so, both my devices are on 5.0.1.
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    There has never been flash on any iDevice. Apple and Adobe cannot get along.
     
  3. jigsb007, Apr 30, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: May 1, 2012

    jigsb007 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #3
    I dont know that, but i am not able to play vido from some web site on my iphon, where it works good on ipad2.

    On iphone4, it shows the link " get flash player" wierd..
     
  4. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #4
    Flash is not very optimized, as a result it uses a lot of power to function on devices. This isn't a problem for computers, but it is for smaller mobile devices like tablets and phones. Also, most flash is written for interaction based on the mouse cursor, which doesn't exist on the phones. As a result, Apple is pushing for the more optimized and efficient HTML5, which can perform many of the same functions of Flash but works on any and all devices.

    HTML 5 support does require the website to support it as well.

    TEG
     
  5. jigsb007 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #5
    I understand, but dont you think if its working on ipad2's safari, then technically it should work on iphone 4 too ?
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    Not sure what website you're talking about but whater video your iPad plays is NOT a flash video period.
     
  7. jigsb007 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #7
    Well, it says...." You need the latest Flash player to see this video"
    "Click here to get Adobe Flash Player"

    i think....they are saying about FLASH PLAYER Here, it seems ...

    And if i open the same website on my ipad2, it works..

    I cant put website name here, but its a porn site...
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    I can assure you your iPad is not playing a flash video.
    It's probably something else that's causing this issue not being able to be viewed on the i4.
    I know it sucks not being able to watch your porn on your phone:D
     
  9. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #9
    Websites call tell what device you're using. If they've programmed the website to detect iPads and let them stream using HTML 5, but do nothing if they detect an iPhone, that's on them and nothing's wrong with your iPhone.

    ******* used to do that.
     
  10. jigsb007 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #10
    i have also installed User Agent Faker. dont you think it takes care of it ?
     
  11. Shenaniganz08 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #11
    how about you post the actual URL so we can verify what you are claiming
     
  12. jigsb007 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #12
    Thank u all, i appriciate your effort on checking porn site..;)
    but, i think its not working on ip4 for sure, might be working on ip4s.

    i think its time to sell $ and buy 4S. ;)
     
  13. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #13
    Have you tried it on your iP4 without the user agent faker? AFAIK, there's no difference in Safari/QuickTime between the iP4 and the iP4s (running the same iOS version).
     
  14. jigsb007 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #14
    Yes, i have tried it that too.. But by doing that it redirect me to their mobile version, and thats not free ;)
     
  15. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #15
    test Red Tube works fine on my IP4 - and the bonus got to see a good lesbo strapon scene

    thanks OP ;)
     
  16. MonkeySee.... macrumors 68040

    MonkeySee....

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    Just to go on a porn site? my goodness.
     
  17. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #17
    well and Siri too :rolleyes:
     
  18. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #18
    My guess is that everyone in this thread that's telling you that it works is using the mobile version.
     
  19. jigsb007 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #19
    Well, thanks for your suggestation..

    i have changed my mind, i m gonna keep ip4, just incase if 4S stop playing it..:):D
     
  20. ericrwalker macrumors 68030

    ericrwalker

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    #20
    Does your mother know what you're doing with her iPad when you lock yourself in your room?
     
  21. jigsb007 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #21
    Were you or are you telling everything what you do behind the doors to your mother ???
     
  22. ericrwalker macrumors 68030

    ericrwalker

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    #22
    Hell no, but I wouldn't do it with my mother's iPad. :D
     
  23. jigsb007, May 1, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: May 1, 2012

    jigsb007 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #23
    Okay, so you want me make it clear ? its not my mother's ipad..
    BTW, did i mention somewhere that i am using my mother's ipad ???
     
  24. EngageWithRage macrumors 6502

    EngageWithRage

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    Your girlfriend's house
    #24
    I woulda kept that to myself lol
     
  25. Lassik macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    #25
    My site of choice is actually youporn.com and i know exactly what you're talking about.

    What is happening is the website is detecting your browser and giving a different version of the site based on that query. If i try to go to these sites from my iPhone 4, 3G or 4s it ends in the same result. On the iPad 2 I have different results though because these sites have HTML5 versions that are only able to be seen while on an iPad2.

    The way around this is to get a browser that allows you to fake your user agent. Meaning that it will say you're using an iPad when you're really on an iPhone. The best browser i've found for doing this is Atomic Browser. It's 99 cents currently in the App Store.

    If you currently have a browser with the ability to do this and it's still not working, this is probably because you've viewed this site from that browser prior to changing your user agent settings. By doing that, a cookie was saved on your phone so that the site doesn't have to perform the check again. To get around this, change your user agent to look like you're on an iPad 2, then clear all your cookies, cache, temp files etc from your browsers settings. Now go back to that site and it should show up perfectly fine.

    Enjoy your extra time spent in the bathroom!
     

Share This Page