HomeKit Why no Homekit Hub fucntion in Mohave?

Discussion in 'HomeKit, HomePod, CarPlay, Home & Auto Technology' started by iVoid, Oct 11, 2018.

  1. iVoid macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #1
    Having the home app in Mohave is nice, but why didn't Apple put in Homekit Hub functionality?
     
  2. Maxd2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
  3. Surf Monkey macrumors 68030

    Surf Monkey

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    Kinda agree with the OP. The Mac should be able to act as a HomeKit hub.
     
  4. cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #4
    The Home app on MacOS Mojave is just a iOS port using UIKit. MacOS doesn’t currently have the integration required for HomeKit hub control which would be coded down to the metal. It’s likely a security nightmare they will address with future iterations of MacOS and potentially hardware depending on how iOS and tvOS handle HomeKit Acessory Protocol (HAP).

    It destroys the battery on my iPad Air 2 so that maybe a factor as well when it comes to laptops.
     
  5. x34 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014

Share This Page