Why no Mac OS X startup progress bar?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by benlee, Oct 27, 2007.

  1. benlee macrumors 65816

    benlee

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #1
    Why doesn't Leopard have it?
    or is it just me?
     
  2. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #2
    Leopard's been loading a lot faster for me. So much faster that a progress bar would only be up for about a second.
     
  3. polishmacuser macrumors 6502a

    polishmacuser

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    ive noticed at the apple store :) your not crazy :D
     
  4. benlee thread starter macrumors 65816

    benlee

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #4
    I have a MBP 2.2 GHZ C2D with Leopard and a MB 2Ghz CD with Tiger. I started them up at the same time and the MBP fully loaded just a second faster.
     
  5. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #5
    Much faster boot up for me as well. I didn't notice until you mentioned it.
     
  6. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #6
    Did you do a fresh install?
     
  7. benlee thread starter macrumors 65816

    benlee

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #7
    yes a fresh install then transferred over from external my home folder and music and documents
     
  8. blackscooby macrumors 6502

    blackscooby

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    #8
    I really miss that start up bar ! Shame it's not there now :(
     
  9. nineteentwelve macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Shrewsbury, UK
    #9
    I never relied on the progress bar at startup because it was timed by the speed of the previous startup. Just a little animation to keep you 'entertained' while you wait for OS X to load.

    But like others, I never noticed it either.
     
  10. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #10
    i only saw the progress bar for 2 sec in tiger so i dont care that its gone in leopard... no biggie. leopard actually boots up about 10 sec slower than tiger on my MBP and i did a clean install. anyone know why? i might delete all the system cache and defrag the system and see if that works.
     

Share This Page