why no Quick Look???

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Thorbjorn, Apr 19, 2008.

  1. Thorbjorn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #1
    Turning to my expert forum... I can't find Leopard's Quick Look anywhere. Got a new iMac, oh, a few weeks ago and used Migration Assistant to bring in stuff from an old computer. Since then, have been updating old programs etc. but have never laid eye on Quick Look at any time during the process. A Spotlight search doesn't reveal it either. This morning did a complete archive and install and still no Quick Look. What gives? :confused: (I'm a little hesitant to do an erase and install because I have Time Capsule and Time Machine backups all set and working well. I don't want to jinx that relationship.)
    Many thanks for any help.
     
  2. ag227 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    #2
    when on the item you want to open in quicklook in the finder window just hit spacebar
     
  3. karenflower macrumors 6502a

    karenflower

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    #3
    Try selecting a file, and pressing the space bar. This is how it works. :)

    Also, in the Finder windows there should be an icon that looks like an eye, next to layout options. You can click that to use quick look too.
     
  4. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Open the finder. See that 'eye' icon on the toolbar to the right of the coverflow icon? That's quicklook. You can also invoke it by hitting the spacebar.
     
  5. Thorbjorn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #5
    Well, this is interesting... The spacebar thing works--thanks very much!! but there's no eye in any Finder windows. Any way to get that to show up, too?
     
  6. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Right click on the finder toolbar - select customize...
     
  7. Thorbjorn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #7
    Hmm... Finder doesn't seem to allow me to customize...
     
  8. Thorbjorn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #8
    I should clarify: under View, in Finder's menu, Hide Toolbar and Customize Toolbar are grayed out.
     
  9. reubs macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    #9
    Is it possible that you're not on an admin account? I honestly don't know much about using accounts or user profiles b/c I just have a single user on my Macbook, but it's the only explanation I can think of.
     
  10. Thorbjorn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #10
    Nope, that doesn't seem to be it. Just checked my System Preferences, Accounts, and I'm the only account on there, and listed as Admin. Hmm...
     
  11. lancestraz macrumors 6502a

    lancestraz

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Location:
    RI
    #11
    Is there a Finder window open? It wont work if there isn't.
     
  12. Thorbjorn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #12
    Ah, yes, there's the rub! (or there was)
    I didn't realize I couldn't access those View options from the desktop...
    Thanks for the help! (and sorry for being such a dufus...)
     
  13. savanahrose macrumors 6502a

    savanahrose

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    greer SC
    #13
    Hey you aren't a dufus. I didn't even know that. I never even thought of it. thanks.
     

Share This Page