Why no SSD for the iMacs?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by gunraidan, May 4, 2010.

  1. gunraidan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #1
    I'm curious about this. The Macbook Pros offer the alternative to upgrade to a SSD, but why not the iMacs?:confused:
     
  2. Jacob Wall macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #2
    MBPs just got a refresh, I would be surprised if Apple didn't take the opportunity to offer SSDs on iMacs when the new refresh happens.
     
  3. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #3
    the ssd's are great for portables , lighter and you dont need much storage in a portable , and normal sata harddrives cost next to nothing compared with a ssd thats the only reason ,and still most people prefere as a option a 2 tb hdd in their AIO desktop rather then a fast 128gb ssd and the 512 gb ssd in the macbook cost over £1000 which would double the price of the iMac

    another thing apple could try to find a space inside for a ssd and a hdd , a small 64gb ssd which is affordable for the os and apps would be enough for most people and storage on a hdd
     
  4. jlblodgett macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #4
    What is the maximum size of a SSD now-a-days? 512 GB?

    Not very appealing to put a small drive into a desktop at a premium price. $1,000 more for 1/2 the hard drive capacity?

    I guess they could offer it as a BTO option. Just doesn't seem all that appealing to me.
     
  5. gunraidan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #5
    I'm saying at least as an option. A 256GB SSD is $650 extra while a 128GB is $250 for a Macbook Pro.
     
  6. Vantage Point macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #6
    I need at least a 1TB hard drive for my iMac to hold most of my photo files. I would imagine most people want a lot of storage capacity for their desktops and at the moment SSD's are just not practical.

    I can see iMacs in 2 years having a SSD for applications and a regular hard drive for storage - best of both worlds
     
  7. duncyboy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #7
    I'm guessing we'll see them as a BTO option for the Mac Pro's first before they make the iMac line-up. You can have an SSD boot drive in a Mac Pro then another drive for storage, but as is well pointed out above the iMac's a one-drive monkey.

    To GUESS further I'd say Apple won't offer SSD's for the iMac smaller than 512GB and they'll wait for those to be much cheaper.
     
  8. VespR macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #8
    Quite simple really, SSD's come in 2.5" laptop size. The drives in iMac's and Mac Pro's are 3.5" desktop size.

    If they wanted to include an SSD they would have to rejig the internals, or use a caddy of some sort which isn't the Apple way.
     
  9. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #9
    you can get ssd's of up to 2 tb .....here from ocz
    http://www.scan.co.uk/Product.aspx?WebProductID=1211025&source=froogle

    but for that price you get about 100 x 1tb in Hdd's for :D
     
  10. farmermac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Location:
    Iowa
    #10
    I bought a 24" last summer and ended up putting a 32gb ssd boot drive in and keeping the 1tb as well. It's setup to hold os and apps and that's it. The user folder is on the 1tb. Best setup I've ever had in any computer.
     
  11. ArcspacE macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    #11
    Where did you fit the SSD, mate?
     
  12. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #12
    yes you fitted a ssd in ,but very likely like all the others you sacrificed your optical drive ..whats the point of that ,having no optical drive any more ?
    i mean i could not live without a optical drive , and i would not like to clutter up my desk with a external one if i buy a AIO system , because thats the whole point of a AIO system ..haveing everything in one box, and i still prefer to have backups on cd/dvd ;)
     
  13. skh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    #13
    I replaced my stock HD with a 160GB Intel SSD (X25 G2). I use a 4tb fw800 drive for storage, and SSD for apps, OS and Docs, and I love the setup.

    It's actually really easy to replace with the drive an SSD. I took pics and was considering making a tutorial. Many have also replaced the optical dive with an SSD, if you want to keep the internal storage that could be an option.

    Can't stress enough how much of a difference it made.
     
  14. Michaelgtrusa macrumors 604

    Michaelgtrusa

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere And Nowhere

Share This Page