Why not AMD

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Cabbit, Jul 16, 2007.

  1. Cabbit macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #1
    Why dose apple not buy amd, right now the would be a nice easy buy and come with ati graphics and great CPU's. I'm sure apple would love to build there own property systems im sure they could even adjust the x86-64 instruction set just enough to lock it to mac hardware.
     
  2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    Intel is making better processors at the moment, so it would be stupid for Apple to go and use AMD processors.
     
  3. SkyBell macrumors 604

    SkyBell

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, unfortunately.
    #3
    I'd've rather they'd gone with AMD, but hey, whatever works for them.
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    Because Intel has the engineering resources that Apple could cut an outsourcing deal for developing the new motherboards. It gets Apple even further out of the manufacturing and engineering process.
     
  5. Rodimus Prime macrumors G4

    Rodimus Prime

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    #5

    I think that is the answer right there. Other wise it would be fairly simple to make a home built apple. My only other guess is their could of been a supply side issue with AMD. Intel has a huge amount of supplus power to make chips. Also IBM makes some of AMD's chips.

    Now it is only a matter of time before AMD chips will be back on top compared to intel. Back when Athons first came out they where a lot better than intel and AMD had the 64 bit chips down a heck of a lot better than intel. Heck intels earily 64 bit chips they release where pretty clear that they where reversed engineered athons. But AMD vs Intel has been a back and forth battle for a very long time. Some times AMD is on top and others intel is.
    Now pardon the spelling I am on my work computer that only has IE and lacks a spell checker.
     
  6. Airforce macrumors 6502a

    Airforce

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    #6
    Well it is now :p
     
  7. iris_failsafe macrumors 6502

    iris_failsafe

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #7
    Well I bet SJ saw Intel Core processor and what Intel could do in term od portable devices, IBM only cared about Server processors and Apple knew that the future of personal computing rest in portability and low consumption. AMD could not do that...
     
  8. Cabbit thread starter macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #8
    lol you guys are way off, im not talking about using AMD im talking about buying AMD. I.e. Apple take over AMD/ATi, Apple make the Apple Athlon 64 and the Apple Radeon X2900XTX
     
  9. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #9
    Less costly to reconfigure a system to suit your needs, than pay for large chunks of the chipset and CPU like they were on the hook for going forward with PPC.

    Apple's gotten quite good at taking a single chipset, making it last for years, and also making them into very different an distinct machines.

    So playing with CPUs and chipsets that someone else is helping pay for is a good thing -- and is allowing Apple to swap chipsets and upgrade CPU generations rather quickly compared to their old schedule.

    Dropping CPU/chipset research also freed up a lot of money in their R&D budget.

    Of course, keeping with Intel will leave them open to an Intel recall in the future. And because they aren't using standardized off the shelf motherboards, it should be interesting.
     
  10. SkyBell macrumors 604

    SkyBell

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, unfortunately.
    #10
    Apple doesn't like to do anymore work then they have to.

    And neither do I.:D
     
  11. -::ubermann::- macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    #11
    no thanks, they would be very expensive
    thanks to conroe and AMD's price cut i built a very cheap custom PC with an Athlon64 X2 and can play battles in rome total war of 14000+ soldiers
     

Share This Page