Why oh why wont Cydia install

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by jimmy83, Nov 24, 2008.

  1. jimmy83 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #1
    It looks like you can install Cydia via the installer.app - http://www.hackthatphone.com/114/iphone_cydia.html

    but that still isnt working for me :mad::mad::mad:

    This is doing my head in, something as simple as JB which shoudl be a 5minute job is turning into a nightmare!
     
  2. gadgetdad macrumors 6502a

    gadgetdad

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    On my iPhone
    #2
    How about some information? Iphone version, Mac or PC, what program you used to Jailbreak, other information ???
     
  3. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #3
    PC vista x64, quickpwn 2.2

    See here

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=605688

    thanks for any help, iam getting rather pissed off with it all now

    Is it worth going back to 2.1?
     
  4. gadgetdad macrumors 6502a

    gadgetdad

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    On my iPhone
    #4
    Well Iam not much help then. I have only JB on a Mac with quikpwn.
     
  5. Chrysaor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #5
    That guide is really old, it is for 1.x firmware.
     
  6. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #6
    Ok thanks, I will ignore it
     
  7. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
  8. DN7335 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #8
    You didn't make it clear why you were trying to do this via Installer. If you update your phone to the latest firmware (2.2) and then use QuickPwn 2.2 to jailbreak it, Cydia will be installed as part of that process. Is there a reason you can't do it this way?
     
  9. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #9
    That's the thing I done has you said with both cydia and installer ticked in quickpwn but once my iPhone restarted only installer is showing on my iPhone.

    Update via iTunes?
     
  10. DN7335 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #10
    Yes update to 2.2 firmware via iTunes, then run QuickPwn. Not sure why Cydia isn't showing up for you, did you previously have it hidden or were you using the Categories app?

    My next step would probably be doing a full restore to factory firmware via DFU mode on the phone and iTunes, then run QuickPwn again to jailbreak. You'll have to set everything back up again (media, settings, apps, etc), but that should work.
     
  11. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #11
    Thanks, a guy of another forum said try this which Iam currently doing

    Have you put a fresh recovery install of the 2.2 firmware?

    Make sure iTunes is open.
    Switch of your phone.
    Hold down the home button and plug it in.
    Keep holding down the home button until iTunes recognises the phone in recovery mode.
    Hit restore and a fresh 2.2 will be uploaded.

    Then run the latest version of QuickPwn, which will run the jailbreak.

    Yer I had the Categories app installed, put didnt have any apps hidden or hidden via poof.
     
  12. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #12
    Well that worked ok until I restored my iphone from a backup and Cydia isnt showing again?!

    Before I resotred from my backup Cydis was on my springboard if thats helps.
     
  13. gadgetdad macrumors 6502a

    gadgetdad

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    On my iPhone
    #13
    Are you sure its not hidden? Boss apps can unhide it if it is.
     
  14. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #14
    Iam sure its not, but how can I install boss apps without having cydia on my iphone? :confused:
     
  15. gadgetdad macrumors 6502a

    gadgetdad

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    On my iPhone
    #15
    Is it not on installer? I thought it used to be.
     
  16. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #16
    No

    Found a work around tho

    download funambol from the app store...use it to sync all ur
    contacts with their server...

    copy all of ur camera roll pictures from ue iphone listed in "my computer"

    *ur

    then restore completely to 2.2

    quickpwn it again

    dont restore from backup

    download funambol and sync the contacts back to your phone

    and drop ur camera roll pics back onto the phone

    then you just need to do a sync and all ur music and other photos will go back on
     
  17. TheConfuzed1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    #17
    Next time, empty your Categories folders before updating your firmware.

    When you put an app into a Categories folder, it hides the icon from the springboard, but it's still there.

    You don't have to rejailbreak though. Download Poof from Installer, and use it to show the Cydia icon.

    If Poof isn't available in Installer, see if BossPrefs is. Poof is included with BossPrefs.
     

Share This Page