Why on earth El Capitan still does not support 2560x1080p?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by aziatiklover, Sep 10, 2015.

  1. aziatiklover macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    #1
    So I just got 2 LG 29" Ultra wide res at 2560x1080 and of course my mac mini 2012 running El Capitan GM still not support it! Really Apple? I run bootcamp with windows 10 pro and it works just fine.

    Anybody know the solution to this? Thank in advance.
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  3. throAU macrumors 601

    throAU

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #3
    Check your monitor/cabling/GPU - maybe try hooking it up via displayport.

    Some versions of HDMI don't officially support 2560x1080.

    I'm running 2560x1080 on my Hackintosh (Haswell + GTX760) just fine - interestingly in Windows it works via HDMI, but with OS X requires Displayport. Maybe driver related, maybe Windows driver does something non-standard/dodgy with the HDMI out on that card to make it do 2560x1080. Displayport no hassle at all.

    I run 2560x1080 on my retina MBP 13 just fine (HDMI)

    TB -> DVI on my 15" doesn't work any higher than 1920x1080

    All running Yosemite - with an ASUS MX299
     
  4. aziatiklover thread starter macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    #4
    I did and it still the same.

    Yes I did all that as well and still no go. However, of course when I boot into windows 10 over bootcamp hdmi and display port work fine. I am guessing Apple needs to get their drivers together so everything works out of the box.

    Ps: I am using both HDMI and Mini Display port since I have both ultra wide monitor side by side.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. iLukeJoseph macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    #5
    Are you using a Mini-Display Port to Display Port cable? Or a MDP to HDMI? To get that res it has to be MDP to DP.

    It will not work over HDMI. Why Apple set this limitation is kind of crazy.
     
  6. aziatiklover thread starter macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    #6
    Yeah I am using mini display port to hdmi, and hdmi to hdmi.
     
  7. Costino1 macrumors 6502

    Costino1

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    #7
    I bought one and returned it.

    It wasn't intuitive enough for me and I didn't want to mess with all the display settings to get it to work.
     

Share This Page