Why only 8GB of RAM?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by BAC5.2, Aug 14, 2011.

  1. BAC5.2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    #1
    Why is there an 8Gb limit to RAM in my late-2010 15" MBP?

    Is that an actual limit, or could I eventually upgrade to 16Gb?
     
  2. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #2
    The chipset cannot accept more, it's a hardware limitation, nothing more to it. Upgrading to 16gb is still well over a grand, I'd wait and buy a quad core instead, you'd probably notice more bang for your buck.
     
  3. DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #3
    Ya, if you run apps that really require 16g ram you'll probably want to upgrade to a 2011 model (or newer, when they come out) since the additional performance of the newer CPU will help you out as well.
     
  4. Mobius 1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
    #4
    apple needs 4 RAM slots.

    looks like they're bottlenecking the MBP's
     
  5. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #5
    Not anymore.

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/1333DDR3S16P/

    Fell $50 today and $100 over the weekend.
     
  6. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #6
  7. gorskiegangsta macrumors 65816

    gorskiegangsta

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #7
  8. BAC5.2 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    #8
    So there is a physical limitation preventing the running of two 8Gb sticks?

    16Gb would let me devote 8Gb to Windows in VMWare Fusion.
     
  9. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #9
    Yes. There is a physical limitation, like I said in my very first post.

    If you want to run 16gb, you'll have to cough up for the latest MBP's as well.
     
  10. altecXP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #10
    Pre-SandyBridge Intel Memory controllers can only support 4GB of RAM per DIMM slot. That limit was changed in SandyBridge, it can take 8GB per DIMM slot.
     

Share This Page